Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 42

    No internet gateway connection under network connections!!!

    This is a discussion on No internet gateway connection under network connections!!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; yeh turned that off i will change my mtu size to summin like 1450. will that be gd???...

    1. #11
      teek22's Avatar
      teek22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSBRO
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      bromley
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      yeh turned that off i will change my mtu size to summin like 1450. will that be gd???


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      yeh try it, might work and make it more stable., if not run down comet or that and grab a wireless card

    4. #13
      teek22's Avatar
      teek22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSBRO
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      bromley
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      k i have changed my mtu size and stuff. if its stable i wont bother moving the router, however i think i will have to get the wireless at some point so i think i will get it soon cos i want to move pc into another room. THANKS FOR ALL THE HELP!

    5. #14
      teek22's Avatar
      teek22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSBRO
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      bromley
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      one more quick question. If i was to buy a wireless card would it matter what make it is cos the sky broadband is netgear. would a belkin wireless card still be compatible

    6. #15
      ellies14me's Avatar
      ellies14me is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Willenhall (01902)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Walsall
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I'm writing this to you now over a Belkin, ....... off a laptop, and I have two in other Desktops upstairs. All three, communicate fine with the SKY Router. Take your pick, but Belkins are generally cheaper. Just make sure you get the 125Gplus, not a standard 56g and in the right size/format for each machine.

      Ian
      Last edited by ellies14me; 28-10-06 at 04:07 PM.

    7. #16
      teek22's Avatar
      teek22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSBRO
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      bromley
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      what do u mean by right size?? do u just mean get the right one depending if u have a a desktop. i have a dell dimension 8300. would the belkin one u told me about earlier be alright???

    8. #17
      ellies14me's Avatar
      ellies14me is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Willenhall (01902)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Walsall
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yes, sorry, just meant get the one you need for either the Laptop, Desktop or both

      I prefer the Card Slot type for Laptops as opposed to the USB ones, but that is just my own preference. I think there is little in it now, but try to go for the fastest you can find at the right price.

      A normal PCI slot type should do the job for the Desktop and are really easy to install.

      Let us know how you get on.

      Regards,
      Ian.

    9. #18
      jontyuk's Avatar
      jontyuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Broadstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by teek22 View Post
      I have recently got sky broadband and i seem to drop out all the time!
      And also i do not have the internet gateway icon under network connections in control panel. Can someone help me please!
      Change the "Advertisment time to live(in hops) from 4 to 6 in the Router setup UPnP page. Gateway Icon returned, using this value on my Dell 5150 system.

      Jonty.

    10. #19
      Alistair S's Avatar
      Alistair S is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      If you don't like the sound of wireless, another option to look at is a Homeplug (google it). You would need one at each end, but it basically uses your electric cabling as a network.

      They do work well!

    11. #20
      teek22's Avatar
      teek22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSBRO
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      bromley
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation

      hey, i have got my wireless connection going and have moved my router to my master socket. I STILL get the same random drop outs that i used to get. Can someone help me please!

      These are my new stats since pluggin my router into the master socket
      Last edited by teek22; 01-11-06 at 09:01 PM.

     

     
    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION