Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    TP Link 8817 + Asus RT-N66U (Forcefully switched to sky from O2)

    This is a discussion on TP Link 8817 + Asus RT-N66U (Forcefully switched to sky from O2) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I was a long time O2 broadband customer, but as you know they have been bought by sky. ...

    1. #1
      thedemon1366's Avatar
      thedemon1366 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2 (which was just converted to Sky)
      Router: TP LINK 8817 + ASUS RT-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2014
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      TP Link 8817 + Asus RT-N66U (Forcefully switched to sky from O2)

      Hi all,

      I was a long time O2 broadband customer, but as you know they have been bought by sky. Sky made the transition for us yesterday and I am now having a lot of issues connecting to the internet.

      My setup for O2 was a TP-Link 8817 in bridge mode + Asus RT-N66U.

      I have been playing around with the modem/router for the best part of a day trying to get back online using a bridge now that we have been switched to sky but, so far, no luck.

      I am able to get online using the TP-Link 8817 in pppoa/pppoe mode (not bridge) and using the asus as an access point, but I really don't like this setup.

      I've done some reading around the subject and it seems that the TP-Link has major issues bridging pppoa to pppoe.
      Is this attempted setup hopeless or is there anything I can do?

      Thanks!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: TP Link 8817 + Asus RT-N66U (Forcefully switched to sky from O2)

      Have a look at this thread, the last para in particular.-
      Using your O2 or Be router on a Sky Broadband (ADSL) connection

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      thedemon1366's Avatar
      thedemon1366 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2 (which was just converted to Sky)
      Router: TP LINK 8817 + ASUS RT-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2014
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: TP Link 8817 + Asus RT-N66U (Forcefully switched to sky from O2)

      Yes I have. The issue is that I am not using the O2 wireless box (because it has always sucked). I am using a separate modem + router.

      I believe that the issue is the TP link modem can't bridge pppoa to pppoe. Having done a little more googling around, I think setting up the router in the modems DMZ might be a viable option.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: TP Link 8817 + Asus RT-N66U (Forcefully switched to sky from O2)

      Please read right down the thread, if you follow this part you should be in exactly the same situation as before-

      What if I'm using a router that wasn't supplied by O2?

      Although the TP8817 is described as a modem it is really a modem router with one ethernet port, so if you use its DMZ it will work but you will have double NAT which may effect some things you do.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      thedemon1366's Avatar
      thedemon1366 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2 (which was just converted to Sky)
      Router: TP LINK 8817 + ASUS RT-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2014
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: TP Link 8817 + Asus RT-N66U (Forcefully switched to sky from O2)

      I have read through that entire page, the section " What if I'm using a router that wasn't supplied by O2?" lists the setting to apply to a modem/router.

      As you said, the TP-Link is really a modem/router combo so to allow the Asus to handle all of the traffic, I need to have the TP-Link set up in bridge mode. I believe this is where I am having the issue.
      I've set all other settings that I could set to what the page suggests (VCI/VPI, VC-Mux based etc).

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION