Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    wireless adator can i use any

    This is a discussion on wireless adator can i use any within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; iv just recieved my sky router and disc but no conection till next week it turns out that i dont ...

    1. #1
      TheWhizzz's Avatar
      TheWhizzz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gravesend
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Gravesend
      Posts
      606
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      wireless adator can i use any

      iv just recieved my sky router and disc but no conection till next week it turns out that i dont have a wireless card in ma pc could i go to pc world and buy a wireless adaptor or do i need to use skys adaptor?? or could i use a bluetooth adaptor that i have got???


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Why not just use ethernet? Saves alot of bother?

    4. #3
      TheWhizzz's Avatar
      TheWhizzz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gravesend
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Gravesend
      Posts
      606
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      i set it all up but my phone box is at the end of my hallway and the pc is in the bedroom about 10 feet from the phone line luckly i kept a lan cable that i was given when i had telewest its about 6 ft long theres loads of wires trailing under doors and the other half is going bonkers cos of all the wiring lol

    5. #4
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      I see what you mean ! Ok, A Bluetooth Adaptor wont work? I suggest getting a new style PCI-Wireless Card with 108mbps Support!

      You could use any but remember Sky can only offer help&support for the Netgear one they supply!

    6. #5
      Amaboknaai's Avatar
      Amaboknaai is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01276 Camberley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Copped Hall
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Ideally you would need an Ethernet (wired) adaptor like this for 2.29 (incl VAT):
      http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...ProductID=1790
      And, optionally, a wireless adaptor like this for 12.15 (incl VAT):
      http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=457260

      and then you would have a wireless LAN for convenience and a wired LAN in the event that your wireless connection goes titsup and if you need to reconfigure your router.

      Scan have always been a reputable and reasonably priced supplier who I personally recommend.

    7. #6
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      @Amaboknaai, Most new PC's come standard with Ethernet or NIC card anyways?

      But your link for the Wireless card is missing!

    8. #7
      TheWhizzz's Avatar
      TheWhizzz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gravesend
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Gravesend
      Posts
      606
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      i already have a Ethernet card on ma pc think i'll ask sky for there netgear adaptor if they offer help and support but is it any good ??

    9. #8
      Amaboknaai's Avatar
      Amaboknaai is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01276 Camberley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Copped Hall
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      It's a netgear and the only one that they will support - no comment about that. Any Wireless adaptor supporting 802.11g will do as long as it supports WPA encryption...

    10. #9
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Whats the cost of Skys Wireless adaptor? Anyone know?

    11. #10
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      20.00 inc postage.Phone the sales on 0870555515 option 2
      Last edited by spike7451; 27-10-06 at 09:17 PM. Reason: mistake

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION