Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Are you migrating or new connection?

    This is a discussion on Are you migrating or new connection? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi everyone, I've noticed that there is a mix feeling about Sky's broadband service, i was just wondering how many ...

    1. #1
      madman's Avatar
      madman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wandsworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Are you migrating or new connection?

      Hi everyone,

      I've noticed that there is a mix feeling about Sky's broadband service, i was just wondering how many of you are actually migrating from other isp's? or having new connection? As i belive people whom are having more problems are the ones who are migrating. Think if people can reply back we can kind of work out timescale for others to actually get Sky Broadband going for them.

      For me:
      Connection: New
      Status: Wating for 3 days from my order placed.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I'm TRYING TO migrate from NewNet to Sky.

      I ordered it on the 4th October I think.
      Got the router a few days later.
      BT said they'd done the provide on the 12th - Could still connect to old ISP
      BT said they'd ceased the old one on the 17th - Old ISP dead but dsl signal still there.
      Loads of tech support calls up to 25th when Tier 3 said it was a duff card in my exchange.

      Will ring again tonight to check the fault status tonight.

    4. #3
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      I was GOING to Migrate from Orange, Who wouldnt give me a MAC Code! So it was a new connection which got activated around 2days before it should have!

    5. #4
      MUllet94's Avatar
      MUllet94 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I migrated from AOL, I was paying 30 for 8mb with them so just couldn't resist 10 a month for 16mb. My Sky BB was originally meant to go live on the 12th October but I was contacted by Sky a few days after it was meant to go live. They said that the MAC number that AOL had given me was false and that they would sort this out with AOL, they gave me a new activation date of the 24th October.

      I was a bit sceptical about this given the problems that some people had been having with Sky. But to my surprise my connection went live on the 23rd and have had no problems so far except for try to get uTorrent to work properly.

    6. #5
      madman's Avatar
      madman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wandsworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      so far it looks like anyone migrating is having bit more problems then the one person who went with a new connection.

      This reminds be of when be* started of, they also were having problems with users whom were migrating.

    7. #6
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      @Madman, Just cancel with your previous ISP and wait for the link to clear (4-5days) then order!

      Save yourself alot of hassle mate!

    8. #7
      madman's Avatar
      madman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wandsworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      yeah that what i did. Well i was forced to. i was on Plusnet LLU. After a long wait to get my MAC code from plusnet i found out Sky dont take them, had to then cancel my service. Took 4weeks to sort all that out. Now its been 3 days from i ordered sky. Lets see how long it takes Sky to sort me out.

    9. #8
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Hopefully it should be soon, But anyways keep us updated?

    10. #9
      madman's Avatar
      madman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wandsworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      yeah i will do

    11. #10
      Calavera's Avatar
      Calavera is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Heywood
      Broadband ISP: Trying for SKYBB
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      what? sky dont take plusnet MAC codes?
      "What exactly are you saving your money for? A rainy day? 'Cuz let me tell you--You're dead. Every day is rainy from now on".

      - Manny Calavera
      Grim Fandango

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION