Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15
    Like Tree2Likes

    Monitor graph - is this normal?

    This is a discussion on Monitor graph - is this normal? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys. I've had a Think Broadband monitor running for a few days now. All of the spikes make sense ...

    1. #1
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Monitor graph - is this normal?

      Hi guys.

      I've had a Think Broadband monitor running for a few days now.
      All of the spikes make sense & do correlate with what i'm using the connection for at the time, apart from 2 blobs that always show up at around 1:30am & 6am.

      Today

      Yesterday

      Day before yesterday


      I only have a PS3 & sky+HD box connected by ethernet & wireless is disabled on the router.
      These blobs occur while the PS3 is switched off & i'm in the land of nod.
      Also, 'pushed on demand' is disabled on the sky box.

      Just checking to see if it's normal or not.
      Last edited by gymno; 01-02-14 at 08:46 PM. Reason: Changed 1st graph from current/dynamic to static. (which didn't work - it's still dynamic)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Monitor graph - is this normal?

      To me that looks perfectly fine.

      The occasional peeks should coincide with times when the connection is busy.

      My own connection this evening is quite busy:



      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Monitor graph - is this normal?

      Wow that is busy!

      Any idea why mine might be busy at 1 & 6am though?

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Monitor graph - is this normal?

      Purely guessing, but perhaps a phone or something is contacting the servers at the same time.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Monitor graph - is this normal?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Purely guessing, but perhaps a phone or something is contacting the servers at the same time.
      Hi Scubbie.
      Thanks for taking the time to investigate.

      Could you elaborate please?
      I don't own a smart phone & as stated, wireless is switched off on the router.

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Monitor graph - is this normal?

      Quote Originally Posted by gymno View Post
      Hi Scubbie.
      Thanks for taking the time to investigate.

      Could you elaborate please?
      I don't own a smart phone & as stated, wireless is switched off on the router.
      Pass then.
      gymno likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Monitor graph - is this normal?

      It is quite possibly DLM having a look at the line.

      If you are a Samknows tester it could be that. Do you have a white/black Samknows box?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Monitor graph - is this normal?

      If the Sky box is the only thing that is still powered up and connected then it must be that which is having a chat with Sky during the night for reason, perhaps it gets lonely ;-) lol. Unplug it see it the spikes disappear.

    10. #9
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Monitor graph - is this normal?

      Thanks guys.

      I didn't consider that DLM activity might show up on the graph.
      I don't use a samknows box but will be disconnecting the cat5 cable from the sky box tonight to see what happens.

    11. #10
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Monitor graph - is this normal?

      Looks like it was the sky box all along:



      Not only that, it wasn't just 1 & 6am that it was doing things either.
      Top gear 8-9 & Dragons Den 9-10 were a must see for me last night & there's activity for that period as well.
      That was with PS3 switched off & before i pulled the ethernet from the sky box.
      Scubbie likes this.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION