Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Problem with second hand sky hub

    This is a discussion on Problem with second hand sky hub within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I have recently upgraded to sky fibre and was given a new black sky hub. I previously had a ...

    1. #1
      Jonc's Avatar
      Jonc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problem with second hand sky hub

      Hi, I have recently upgraded to sky fibre and was given a new black sky hub. I previously had a white sky hub and gave this to my father as a replacement for his original sky router. This seemed to work with no issues except that all devices connected to his network now show as if they are at my address instead of his, the router obviously has my details embedded. I contacted sky and they said there was no way of resolving and adding my fathers details to the router. It seems a complete waste of kit to throw the router away, can anyone help me to add his details into this router?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Problem with second hand sky hub

      Without hacking the firmware (don't know if that's possible yet) it can' be done
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Problem with second hand sky hub

      How are these devices showing their address? Whilst Sky may have the routers details recorded against your account I can't see how that would be used to identify individual devices.

    5. #4
      Jonc's Avatar
      Jonc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem with second hand sky hub

      When my iPad's and iPhone's are connected to this router they are displaying that they are physically located at the routers previous residential address rather than where they actually are. Other devices are displaying the location cannot be identified.

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Problem with second hand sky hub

      It sounds like the software being used to locate the geographical location of your iPad and iPhone is relying on the SSID of the router (or the MAC Address). This is down to the data held/accessed by Apple. The router itself does not have your home address stored in its database.

      It may correct over time, but there isn't anything that we can do really.

      What I would always sugest when people purchase a router over the Internet (not you case I appreciate) is to change the SSID and password. Could I suggest that you consider doing this to see if it resolves your problem?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION