Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Can I Leave A Free Contract Early??

    This is a discussion on Can I Leave A Free Contract Early?? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Yeah I know what your thinking, why do I want to leave a free contract lol Keeping it as brief ...

    1. #1
      viper911's Avatar
      viper911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alloa
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can I Leave A Free Contract Early??

      Yeah I know what your thinking, why do I want to leave a free contract lol

      Keeping it as brief as possible.

      I'm at practically the end of the Alloa exchange.

      On Sky Unlimited and have been since they caught up with the usage last year.

      I get, on a good day, around 1MB. Thats not enough for all this On Demand and stuff that Sky say is the reason for hiking the bill up. Also factor into that the gaming that I want to be getting back into and the wifes bingo then I'm screwed.

      As far as I can see, Sky dont offer Fibre at the exchange but BT do so if I wanted fibre I could go there.

      Now, my contract for BB is free, they gave me a deal lol but the contract is up until Aug 2014. Now with all other contracts we cant break them unless we pay them up, correct? So how does that work with a free contract? Theorectically, can I not just leave? I expect I would need a MAC code?

      Anyways, just looking for advice on that because all I get from the Sky guy is your contracts up until Aug 2014 on repeat.

      Also, no word on when Sky will offer Fibre at my exchange.

      Ta


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can I Leave A Free Contract Early??

      Fibre has been available in Alloa for over a year now. I would be very surprised if Sky does not offer it, if it is available in your post code. Have you made enquiries?

      With regards your question, I think it will depend more on your phone contract. If you are within the minimum period with that, you may find it difficult to leave without penalty. ISPs, especially with fibre, require you to take their phone rental with any broadband deal. If your rental is still with BT, you have no problem leaving.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      viper911's Avatar
      viper911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alloa
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I Leave A Free Contract Early??

      Yeah the last person I spoke to said it wasnt available but had no info on when it would be.

      Will give them a phone and speak to cancellations, always seems to prompt a better response lol

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can I Leave A Free Contract Early??

      Have you checked if it is available at your cabinet? Its not right up to date, but try putting your post code in here -
      FTTC Check

      My son lives in Menstrie and although the exchange is enabled (Alva), he can't get it as his cabinet is not.
      Last edited by Isitme; 19-12-13 at 04:28 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      viper911's Avatar
      viper911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alloa
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I Leave A Free Contract Early??

      Just spoke to them and its not available and not likely to be within the next few months. He also says there not normally far behind when BT introduce new products lol

      Also he says if I wanted to leave then the offer I have of free broadband would also be cancelled and therefore the broadband would be chargeable and I would have to pay the remaining term. Dont actually understand how that works. They offered me free BB, and now if I want to leave then its chargeable???

      Will speak to BT and see what they say.

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Can I Leave A Free Contract Early??

      I think if that were challenged in court, which it would have to go through for Sky to enforce, that Sky would lose.

      Check with someone such as Citizen's Advice Bureaux though to be safe.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Can I Leave A Free Contract Early??

      Quote Originally Posted by viper911 View Post
      Also he says if I wanted to leave then the offer I have of free broadband would also be cancelled and therefore the broadband would be chargeable and I would have to pay the remaining term. Dont actually understand how that works. They offered me free BB, and now if I want to leave then its chargeable???
      I think that's an uneducated advisor clutching at straws tbh. Funniest thing I've read tonight tho.


    9. #8
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      823
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Can I Leave A Free Contract Early??

      You didn't get free broadband; what you received was broadband at no extra charge as part of your package. Sky can claim quite reasonably claim that you cannot cancel part of the package, you can only cancel all of it.

      If you have a Sky-operated telephone line, you can't get BT fibre broadband anyway - you will have to have a BT-operated line. If you already have a BT line, I doubt there's much Sky can do to prevent you installing BT fibre broadband as you'll continue to pay for the whole of your Sky package whether you use it or not.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION