Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    Unknown Uploads!

    This is a discussion on Unknown Uploads! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, Just been on the phone with Sky tech support, a call back!! One of things he mentioned is ...

    1. #1
      SteCole77's Avatar
      SteCole77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester Irlam - MRIRL
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Unknown Uploads!

      Hi all,


      Just been on the phone with Sky tech support, a call back!!


      One of things he mentioned is that in the last 5 days i have uploaded over 725mb of stuff!

      I don't use any... well i don't even know what they're called lol, to share software music etc.

      All i've done in the last few days is play BF 2142 demo for a bit, a little on other internet games but no uploads other than that!

      All the guy could think of doing was to run anti virus/spyware test and change my wireless security ID + key.

      All tests on my pc's are coming up empty, with AVG, Spybot + Ad-Aware, so far that is.


      Any ideas any one?

      Does BF 2142 send up massive amounts of data?


      Any one know of a free, easy to use bandwidth monitor i could try?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      organic's Avatar
      organic Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Any game will upload data to the server but i wouldnt of thought it to be that high.

      why cant sky offer some form of tool so we can keep an eye on what were actually using im finding it quite hard to keep a track on my usage not that i expect to really use anymore than a few gbs of bandwith all i do is check my email and pay my bills online so nothing really major.

      Does anyone else know how we can keep a track on our bandwith usage.

      As for your problem what programs do you use to keep your pc safe?

    4. #3
      promark's Avatar
      promark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey (SMBA)
      Broadband ISP: If you can call 1.4Mb Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You havent downloaded and installed the Sky by Broadband have you?

      Very bad software,read this article

      http://www.pcdoctor-guide.com/wordpress/?p=2452

    5. #4
      SteCole77's Avatar
      SteCole77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester Irlam - MRIRL
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No, installed nothing like that.


      I doubt very much that i've been hacked too, as i know all my neighbours arround me and over the road. I'll change everything anyway, incase these things have a long range for hackers to reach in from.


      Just running F-Secure on line scanner on both my machines at the moment, nothing as yet.

      Sure takes a while...
      Last edited by SteCole77; 25-10-06 at 05:54 PM.

    6. #5
      organic's Avatar
      organic Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thats got me totally stummped i have no idea as to whats happened to you in this situation.

    7. #6
      markyb's Avatar
      markyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: orrell
      Broadband ISP: connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      wigan
      Posts
      163
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      speed testing will show on your uploads as it uploads data
      i have a prog running that shows how much you are uploading downloading
      its called du meter there is a pay one with a trial and a fee one.
      ill try and find a link for you if no one else beats me to it

    8. #7
      SteCole77's Avatar
      SteCole77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester Irlam - MRIRL
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Doing speed tests will hardly UPload 725mb though will it.


      Something starnge is going on and i'd like to know the answer.

    9. #8
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by promark View Post
      You havent downloaded and installed the Sky by Broadband have you?

      Very bad software,read this article

      http://www.pcdoctor-guide.com/wordpress/?p=2452
      If you go to skybybroadband help they give you a link to the k cleaner, it works without deleting registry entries, and is very slick, I double checked the registry but all the relevant entries had been removed by the cleaner, all I had to do was remove the file holding the downloads
      Last edited by sassylady; 25-10-06 at 07:37 PM. Reason: cannot spell lol
      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

    10. #9
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Firstly Speedtest wont be an issue as the max file sizes they have are around 10Mb?
      If they think 750Mb is bad they should check my 8gb of Prison Break?

      Also It could be a trojan! Or more likely Sky Broadbands Tech Support being Funny lol!

    11. #10
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      There's a thing called Ethereal that will show you where all traffic is coming from and going to. Gets a bit complicated though.

      If you can see your router it may be worth keeping an eye open for flashing lights that shouldn't be.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION