Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14
    Like Tree2Likes

    Sky DNS Servers

    This is a discussion on Sky DNS Servers within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I want to set up some of my PCs on Static IPs so need to know the DNS servers. I ...

    1. #1
      nheather's Avatar
      nheather is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carfax, Horsham (SDHRSHM)
      Broadband ISP: Paying more to get Unlimited so that I get the same service as the MID I signed up for
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      214
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky DNS Servers

      I want to set up some of my PCs on Static IPs so need to know the DNS servers.

      I know you can use any, but it would be nice to use Sky's (I assume domain name resolution would be slightly faster that way)

      Cheers,

      Nigel


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      XPUser's Avatar
      XPUser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas (EMSTBBS)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by nheather View Post
      I want to set up some of my PCs on Static IPs so need to know the DNS servers.

      I know you can use any, but it would be nice to use Sky's (I assume domain name resolution would be slightly faster that way)

      Cheers,

      Nigel
      Go to your DOS prompt and type (without the quotes) "ipconfig /all" This will list amongst other things your the DNS of the ISP your using. If you using Sky, as I assume you are, then the DNS listed will be skys.

    4. #3
      nheather's Avatar
      nheather is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carfax, Horsham (SDHRSHM)
      Broadband ISP: Paying more to get Unlimited so that I get the same service as the MID I signed up for
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      214
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Tried that already - doesn't work!

      If you have static IP then it reports the DNS servers as you typed them in (but of course you know them already.

      If you are on dynamic IP, then ipconfig /all just reports the DNS server as your router (i.e. 192.168.0.1) - I imagine the router has the DNS server info which it automatically picks up from the Sky connection but of course you can't see that bit of the router admin console.

      I guess I will have to look at the router config using URL injection.

      XPUser - what do you get when you use ipconfig /all ??

      Cheers,

      Nigel

    5. #4
      ChrisE's Avatar
      ChrisE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Basingstoke
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by nheather View Post
      Tried that already - doesn't work!

      If you have static IP then it reports the DNS servers as you typed them in (but of course you know them already.

      If you are on dynamic IP, then ipconfig /all just reports the DNS server as your router (i.e. 192.168.0.1) - I imagine the router has the DNS server info which it automatically picks up from the Sky connection but of course you can't see that bit of the router admin console.

      I guess I will have to look at the router config using URL injection.

      XPUser - what do you get when you use ipconfig /all ??

      Cheers,

      Nigel
      The 6th line of the ADSL Port section of the router's status page has the DNS address. Currently my router is showing 87.86.189.16 which I assume is Sky's DNS.

      Regards
      Chris

    6. #5
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      87.86.189.16 is the old Easynet from what I gather

    7. #6
      nheather's Avatar
      nheather is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carfax, Horsham (SDHRSHM)
      Broadband ISP: Paying more to get Unlimited so that I get the same service as the MID I signed up for
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      214
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      87.86.189.16

      Yep, found that one also .... need two to complete the TCP/IP properties for a static IP. They can't be the same nor can you leave one blank.

      Suppose I can just put any other one in as alternate.

      Also found these on EasyNet site

      212.135.1.36
      195.40.1.36

      The WHOIS entries seem to be very similar to the 87.86.189.16 so I bet the NameServers are pretty much in the same place - all seem to be RIPE in Holland.

      Cheers,

      Nigel
      Happ_Bunny likes this.

    8. #7
      Topkidben's Avatar
      Topkidben is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thurnby - EMTHRNB
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      136
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky DNS Servers

      Well i have found in my area that i get DNS Errors so i use OpenDNS which makes your internet faster aswell yippy there servers are:

      Primary: 208.67.222.222
      Secondary: 208.67.220.220

      Also if you i add these settings i would restart your computer and reboot your router.
      Happ_Bunny likes this.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,883
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Sky DNS Servers

      I want to set up some of my PCs on Static IPs so need to know the DNS servers.
      If you mean you want to assign manual addresses to your PCs, you do not really need to complete the Server part. As has been mentioned, Sky servers are not too hot and many use OpenDNS. If you are going to fill this part in you would be well advised to do the same. The addresses are above.

      If you want to use the Sky servers these can be found on the Router Status page at the bottom of the ADSL Port section, against Domain Name Servers.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,182
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Sky DNS Servers

      Quote Originally Posted by Topkidben View Post
      Well i have found in my area that i get DNS Errors so i use OpenDNS
      Why are you bumping up old threads from almost two years ago to promote the OpenDNS servers. Most people do know about them and if they don't there are many people on here that are only to glad to point them in the right direction. Don't get me wrong, it is good to help people but bumping up old threads isn't the way to go.

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky DNS Servers

      As a matter of interest, anyone with poorly performing Sky DNS, do you use Peer Guardian at all?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION