Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Better grade wire between BT socket and Sky Hub (DSL Wire???)

    This is a discussion on Better grade wire between BT socket and Sky Hub (DSL Wire???) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Been having problems with my connection, BTO just been out, and changed the socket to the one with the ...

    1. #1
      CBG's Avatar
      CBG
      CBG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01522 - Lincoln - (SLBWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Virgin Media
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Lincoln, UK
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Question Better grade wire between BT socket and Sky Hub (DSL Wire???)

      Hi,

      Been having problems with my connection, BTO just been out, and changed the socket to the one with the DSL/Fibre and phone socket in one (so no need for microfilter), and hopefully sorted it, just waiting for training again.

      Anyway, I would like to move the router to the other end of the room, by the BT master socket, which isn't a problem.

      I have ordered a new shield Ethernet cable, to reach my powerplug/powerline.
      Anyway I am thinking about getting a new wire that goes between the master socket and the Sky Hub (DSL lead???), to replace the one that came with the Sky Hub.

      Do they do a better grade, if so where should I be looking, also shield would be nice as well.
      Anyone know of where, I can get a better one from?

      It will also need to work with Sky Fibre.

      This is the socket: click it to make it bigger

      Better grade wire between BT socket and Sky Hub (DSL Wire???)-bt.jpg

      Thanks
      Last edited by CBG; 11-12-13 at 05:33 PM.
      Regards,
      CBG (Garry)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Better grade wire between BT socket and Sky Hub (DSL Wire???)

      You might, I say might as over a short distance it does not matter much what type of cable you use, if you use a twisted pair cable. They are not expensive, so no great loss if there is no improvement. http://www.amazon.co.uk/Metre-Speed-...1+twisted+pair

      If the length is anything much over about 3m, then you will benefit from using a cat5e type twisted pair cable. Shielding does not matter that much, apart from giving some protection to the main wires. To be effective it has to be grounded at both ends, which is very difficult to achieve in a home set up.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      CBG's Avatar
      CBG
      CBG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01522 - Lincoln - (SLBWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Virgin Media
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Lincoln, UK
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Better grade wire between BT socket and Sky Hub (DSL Wire???)

      I have the standard wire, but only need a 1 meter lead.
      So should I get a standard 1 meter RJ11 to RJ11?
      Regards,
      CBG (Garry)

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Better grade wire between BT socket and Sky Hub (DSL Wire???)

      I doubt if it will make much difference, but it may be worth it just to reduce the amount of wire you have lying around.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION