Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 25

    Help wanted!!

    This is a discussion on Help wanted!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Following the change of provider by jem16 from O2 to Sky and the ability to carry on using the O2 ...

    1. #1
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Help wanted!!

      Following the change of provider by jem16 from O2 to Sky and the ability to carry on using the O2 router, it would be really nice if some members could help us with some research.

      Basically if it works, then we can provide some new advice for our members on the Sky Broadband Unlimited product and perhaps those on the Sky Connect product.

      So could I ask for some volunteers please????

      Could the volunteers please try connecting your own router using the connection process required for O2 please?

      For full instructions on doing this, please visit out sister site (O2User) and look at Saturday's post here:

      How to use your own router with O2 Broadband - O2User - Unofficial help and support forum for O2

      I look forward to hearing back from people.

      It will also be useful to include details of your exchange and whether there was any O2 kit present as well. If you are unsure of this information, please check the SamKnows link below:

      SamKnows - Telephone Exchange Search

      Also can you confirm whether there was any change in the connection speeds (up and down) and what broadband package you are on please.

      The advantage of using the O2 process would mean that the ADSL customers will not need to extract the Sky router log in details if this works.

      Thank you to those who give this a try in advance.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      trippyrain's Avatar
      trippyrain is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2013
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help wanted!!

      i hope this is simple its my only hope

      it says radius password what is this? im a sky customer not o2

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Help wanted!!

      Good spot but that is for the 'Home Access' product only. I think that this was their BTW product. The username and password will be something that O2 customers will have been sent.

      I am hoping the the LLU instructions will work on all of Sky's LLU kit now. It would be nice if they were to work on the Connect product as well, but this may not be the case. For those who were not O2 customers and are on the Connect product, you may need this username and password.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help wanted!!

      I am in the middle of a large download or I would try this, but I have to doubt that it will work on a normal Sky connection. The channel identifier is different from Sky so I would guess that unless the line has been configured for O2 it will not work. I will give it a try later.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Help wanted!!

      Thanks Tom.

      According to SamKnows your exchange never had any O2 kit, so this will be interesting.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help wanted!!

      I am going to try it now. I might be gone for some time...

      Well I am back, but on the Sky Hub. The settings did not work for me.
      Last edited by Isitme; 27-11-13 at 05:11 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Help wanted!!

      Not such a silly point as it can take up to an hour for a Sky Hub to connect to the Internet for the first time...

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help wanted!!

      I never have any problems or wait for a connection. My GT connected immediately on the Sky settings but would not connect with the O2 Settings. As you say, it may work on an exchange with O2 LLU, but I have to doubt it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (27-11-13)

    11. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Help wanted!!

      Thanks Tom.

      Anyone else? Please?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    12. #10
      davews's Avatar
      davews is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      May 2013
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Help wanted!!

      You are unfortunately incorrect Scubbie. The O2 LLU connections and setups are totally incompatible with Sky LLU as they use totally different systems. The one that does work from O2 routers is the O2 Access settings, PPP, and that is the one Sky will find when you try and connect. It comes with a user name of ****@o2broadband.co.uk and associated password which will authenticate via the O2 RADIUS servers. I have no idea of the password, but having just been transferred as part of the O2 migration process the O2 Access PPP connection is definitely the one it uses. Sky have realised that O2 Access already built into the O2 boxes is fully compatible with Sky LLU and using it for seamless migration of us O2 customers into Sky - but if you want to use these on other routers you will need to know the full details which I do not have. You CANNOT use the existing ones for the O2 LLU network.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION