Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    Help wanted!!

    This is a discussion on Help wanted!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Can you please then explain how jem16 has been switched an O2 connection to a Sky connection and is able ...

    1. #11
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Help wanted!!

      Can you please then explain how jem16 has been switched an O2 connection to a Sky connection and is able to use the O2 router please?

      Remember that I can see the IP Addresses and where previously jem16 was posting with an O2 IP Address, the posts now show a Sky IP Address.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      davews's Avatar
      davews is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      May 2013
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Help wanted!!

      As I said, the O2 routers have two separate connections installed in them - one for O2 LLU and one for O2 Access, used for those exchanges which don't have LLU. The router tries to connect via each of these in turn till one connects. When on an O2 LLU line it will connect via the LLU settings. When it is connected to Sky LLU the Access settings will connect, which happens to be fully compatible with Sky. A clever trick.... It means that the switchover is fully automatic and no changes whatsoever are needed in firmware etc to the box.

    4. #13
      Hedgehog1979's Avatar
      Hedgehog1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01506
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HDw box X2
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      298
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts

      Help wanted!!

      I was speaking to a customer today who has just moved from o2 and was using their Thomson o2 wireless box 2.

      He had the correct lights to indicate he was connected but still would not connect, we had to log into the router and on the gui there were 2 options one for adsl and one for adsl2plus.

      Next to thes was then an option to press connect which we did and it then connected without the need for any changes to be made although the customer said the router used to be connected to adsl2plus and now it had connected to adsl.




      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

    5. #14
      davews's Avatar
      davews is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      May 2013
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Help wanted!!

      Yes, O2 LLU uses the adsl2plus connection, Sky uses the adsl one.

    6. #15
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Help wanted!!

      Sky Broadband Connect uses ADSL (1) (upto 8128kbps down, 448kbps up).

      Sky Broadband Home Lite and Sky Broadband Unlimited both use ADSL2+ (upto 24mb down, ~1300kbps up).

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #16
      davews's Avatar
      davews is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      May 2013
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Help wanted!!

      The 'adsl' settings in the O2 router connect as ADSL2+ on Sky unlimited, which is what most of us are being moved over. Whether you go on ADSL or ADSL2+ is determined by the exchange when you connect, not the router settings. For use with other routers you need to use the O2 Access settings given at the bottom of your linked page, the LLU settings will NOT work.

      And I seem to be connected as ADSL+ at the moment (G992.1 Annex A) with 8Mbs down, 800kbs up, probably part of the training process.

    8. #17
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Help wanted!!

      I shall see if I can try a router of mine on a friend's connection at a later date.

      He too has swapped from O2 to Sky and lives in an area that was served by O2's LLU kit.

      I think that he still has the O2 routers laying around in a cupboard somewhere as well.

      Of interest to you davews, where ADSL is forced on Sky's LLU kit, the connection speed won't necessarily be 448kbps up. That is something specific to the Connect package. If both the down and up speed are divisible by 32 then you have forced ADSL. ADSL2+ tends to be an odd number and rarely divisible by 32 when it isn't.

      8128kbps down is the fastest an ADSL connection speed will be though.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #18
      davews's Avatar
      davews is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      May 2013
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Help wanted!!

      Yes, I have 7840 down 960 up, both divisible by 32.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help wanted!!

      So the official O2 router connects to Sky with no need for changes. That's fine, but can you replace that router with one of your own? If not, there does not seem to be any advantage.

      It looks like you are on ADSL or ADSL2 or you would not be syncing at the full rate. If you are on an LLUd exchange you should set the mode to ADSL2+. As you are not on the maximum download you may not get any more but your upload could improve to 1.1Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      Hedgehog1979's Avatar
      Hedgehog1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01506
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HDw box X2
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      298
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts

      Help wanted!!

      Even though the router was connected using adsl they were connected at over 13000 kb/s, I checked that just to make sure it had not affected the speed and there was no difference between the 2 connection types.


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION