Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Drop in broadband speed

    This is a discussion on Drop in broadband speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, recently my broadband has unexpectedly dropped in speed. It was running at about 15000kbps but it has now ...

    1. #1
      ChenoJoe's Avatar
      ChenoJoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Billericay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2013
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Drop in broadband speed

      Hi all,

      recently my broadband has unexpectedly dropped in speed. It was running at about 15000kbps but it has now dropped to 12285kbps.

      line attenuation is 27db with noise margin at 5.3db.

      Could the low noise margin be a problem? Just a bit unsure what would cause it to drop.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Drop in broadband speed

      The low noise margin could indeed be the problem. Have you tried plugging into the Test socket to see if the speed/noise margin rises. This would rule out or in a problem in your internal set up.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      ChenoJoe's Avatar
      ChenoJoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Billericay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2013
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Drop in broadband speed

      Hi many thanks for the response.

      I have just plugged it into my master socket, it is now the only device plugged into a phone line within the house.

      However I still seem to have a low noise margin and lower speeds than I have been getting. I have attached my connection statistics.

      I also spoke to Sky who say there is no line fault.

      Bit lost what has caused the change as I have had 3 years of good speed with sky.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Drop in broadband speed-image.jpg  

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Drop in broadband speed

      Next thing to try is plugging a corded phone into the test socket and check it for noise on the line. Do this by dialling one digit and listening. You should hear nothing except maybe a very faint hiss. If there is no noise, try the tests by dialling 17070 and go through the options.

      Another check is to bring up the stats pane and then make a phone call, your own number would do. A rise in the noise margin could indicate an HR fault which will effect the broadband badly, but have little effect on the voice line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      ChenoJoe's Avatar
      ChenoJoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Billericay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2013
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Drop in broadband speed

      Thanks for your help. Spoke to Sky and turns out my profile had lowered in speed. It has now been reset and all seems fine at the moment.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Drop in broadband speed

      What do your stats look like now?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      ChenoJoe's Avatar
      ChenoJoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Billericay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2013
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Drop in broadband speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      What do your stats look like now?
      Much as they were previously. I do get slighlty over 16mb when plugged directly into master socket but it isn't a practical location so I have a slight drop due to the extension wire. I am happy though.

      Back to what I am used to!

      Drop in broadband speed-route-stats.jpg

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION