Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 33
    Like Tree1Likes

    Sky HUB SR101 & Signal Box

    This is a discussion on Sky HUB SR101 & Signal Box within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, Hoping someone can help me out a bit here, I've got a problem where my EE Signal Box is ...

    1. #1
      Binary's Avatar
      Binary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Sky HUB SR101 & Signal Box

      Hello,

      Hoping someone can help me out a bit here, I've got a problem where my EE Signal Box is plugged into my SR101 and no/very slow data is passed over (The signal box tunnels in to EE so shouldnt be Skys issues)...

      However a friend is having the same problem on the SR101, so i got my username and password, connected up the old wise one (Phase 1 Netgear) and tested it and and all was fine. Calls etc work and the Signal box has been put in a DMZ and it was working around a month ago.

      Now i dont think the F/W on the Hub was recently updated (id quite like to downgrade it to 2202?? and retest) however ive noticed PPPoA is now the connection mode, prior to the exchange getting Fibre it was MER.

      So anybody else in the same sticky situation and also anybody know if i can downgrade the hub to test?

      (Also EE dont see an issue on their end - which ive slightly proven)
      Bugatti Veyron - One of the greatest engineering projects ever!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Sky HUB SR101 & Signal Box

      The current firmware (1.15j.2639.R) for the SR101 should be fine to allow you to use the DMZ function.

      Whilst you could use the tool on the Sky website to wind the firmware back to an earlier state, this is for recovery purposes. After a short period of time the firmware will automatically update to the current version once more.

      Looking at your current IP Address I suspect that this may actually be the cause of the problem. Could I suggest that you contact EE to see if it is within their allowed ranges please?

      Also I would recommend that you find another solution than placing the device in the SR101's DMZ settings.

      So many different people suggest that you place a device in the DMZ setting that it would be quite impossible to run a home network with more that two such devices. You should really be provided a suitable list of ports to forward if required or the device should work well with UPnP.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Binary's Avatar
      Binary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Hi Scubbie, I have the list of ports and it did work fine before, the DMZ was Mr just to try incase, also when I used my own router I was given a 151 IP range which I had on the HUB. I think I'll give the recovery a try.
      Thanks

      Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk 4
      Bugatti Veyron - One of the greatest engineering projects ever!

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Sky HUB SR101 & Signal Box

      If you were to visit Google and search "what is my ip address" you'll see that your IP Address now begins with a 5. This is another new IP range which Sky bought a little while ago.

      We have had similar issues with Vodafone's Sure Signal and members have had to advise Vodafone.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky HUB SR101 & Signal Box

      Try power cycling, turn the power off then on again, see if you can get a new IP address. If that does not work, go to the router status page and click the Sky Test button. This used to be a 100% method of getting an address change, but now it does not always work.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Binary's Avatar
      Binary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky HUB SR101 & Signal Box

      Hi,
      Sorry for not replying in a while to this (sorry for bumping too?)

      So its not IP address related and from what I have been told the signal box sets up a secured tunnel and from the testing we have performed there is very little throughput so it sounds like a rouge QoS on the router? - not too sure.

      What i do know is its just the SR101 - others have the same problem just on the router, sky are being a little hard to assist but i have found that Sky Recovery Tool includes the latest firmware which is currently 2639, does anybody know where I could get any earlier versions of the .exe to try and downgrade?
      Thanks
      Bugatti Veyron - One of the greatest engineering projects ever!

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Sky HUB SR101 & Signal Box

      You could try installing an early version of the firmware, but the router will automatically update itself to the latest version once more.

      Try this link to do the firmware downgrade:

      Download the Sky router recovery tool | Sky Help

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #8
      Binary's Avatar
      Binary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky HUB SR101 & Signal Box

      Hi Scubbie,

      Ive tried that and it reflashes the latest 1.15j.2639.R which is also contained within the tool - thats why i was thinking if anybody had an older revisionion of the tool it should contain an older revision of the SR101 formware.
      Bugatti Veyron - One of the greatest engineering projects ever!

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Sky HUB SR101 & Signal Box

      Phooey!

      Sadly there is no CD supplied with the SR101 with an older firmware on it.

      Someone may have managed to download an old one, but I haven't seen this for the SR101.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #10
      Binary's Avatar
      Binary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky HUB SR101 & Signal Box

      I did find one link on google but it was one of them mdownloader scams.

      If I do get anywhere ill update
      Bugatti Veyron - One of the greatest engineering projects ever!

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION