Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    only 6mb dl speeds

    This is a discussion on only 6mb dl speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Exchange: Stanley BT Code: NESTN Location: Anthony Street DH9 8AF Distance:- Direct: 0.43 mi not even half a mile away ...

    1. #1
      djpower2k9's Avatar
      djpower2k9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: stanley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry only 6mb dl speeds

      Exchange: Stanley BT Code: NESTN
      Location: Anthony Street DH9 8AF
      Distance:- Direct: 0.43 mi

      not even half a mile away and i'm down to 6mb... 2 years ago when i moved in here i was steady at 11mb is technology going backover or what?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: only 6mb dl speeds

      We really need your router stats to give any sort of advice.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      djpower2k9 (16-10-13)

    5. #3
      djpower2k9's Avatar
      djpower2k9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: stanley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: only 6mb dl speeds

      System Details
      Manufacturer Sagemcom
      Model Number F@ST2504n
      Firmware Version 6.14.6a4N_UNI
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pD038m.d24h

      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7002 kbps 753 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.5 dB 15.1 dB
      Noise Margin 8.4 dB 10.0 dB

    6. #4
      skoobydu's Avatar
      skoobydu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2013
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: only 6mb dl speeds

      Can I add to this, as I'm pretty much the same boat, over the last few weeks my though-put speeds have dropped to about 6mb, but the router shows that its synced at 10mb to the exchange.

      I was putting it down to fluctuations, and in my case probably old ADSL splitters wiring.

    7. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: only 6mb dl speeds

      Quote Originally Posted by djpower2k9 View Post
      System Details
      Manufacturer Sagemcom
      Model Number F@ST2504n
      Firmware Version 6.14.6a4N_UNI
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pD038m.d24h

      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7002 kbps 753 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.5 dB 15.1 dB
      Noise Margin 8.4 dB 10.0 dB
      You should certainly be getting much more,18-19Mb I would say. Are you sure DLM retraining is not working on your line? Check the WAN uptime on your stats, if it shows a resync in the early hours, then that is DLM at work. Give it a couple of days and see if your speed increases.

      If your uptime is more than 24 hours, call Sky and ask them to reconfigure your line, either manually or by restarting DLM training.

      @Skoobdu. Your situation is completely different, please start your own thread, not forgetting to post your stats.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      djpower2k9 (17-10-13)

    9. #6
      djpower2k9's Avatar
      djpower2k9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: stanley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: only 6mb dl speeds

      I rebooted router yesterday to see if speeds would change but they are stuck on 7002 download.
      are you sure i should be getting around 18-19mb?
      only 6mb dl speeds-1.jpg

    10. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: only 6mb dl speeds

      If your line is capable of it and fault free. This is the result from the forums checker -
      SkyUser - Potential ADSL2 and Line Speed Calculator


      ADSL2+ Speed Test
      We estimate your line is capable of between 16mb to 24mb broadband on an ADSL2+ service.
      The Kitz checker works slightly differently and gives this result
      only 6mb dl speeds-kitz.jpg
      Note that this is with a 6db margin, Sky's DLM can take the margin down to 3 db which could increase the figure by 1-2 to 2-0 Mb

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      djpower2k9 (21-10-13)

    12. #8
      djpower2k9's Avatar
      djpower2k9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: stanley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: only 6mb dl speeds

      Thanks for your help.... i got speeds back up to a better level by phoning sky and they fixed the problem over the weekend.

      only 6mb dl speeds-1.jpg
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails only 6mb dl speeds-1.jpg  

    13. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: only 6mb dl speeds

      That's a good bit better. If they restarted DLM training you may get a bit more.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION