Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    MER to PPPoA

    This is a discussion on MER to PPPoA within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; So last night, me and my friend (both on EMBOSTO) had our ADSL drop, and when it came back up ...

    1. #1
      nellisere's Avatar
      nellisere is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMBOSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2013
      Location
      Boston
      Posts
      86
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      MER to PPPoA

      So last night, me and my friend (both on EMBOSTO) had our ADSL drop, and when it came back up about a minute later, we were both on PPPoA with a 2.x.x.x IP address (instead of the 90.x.x.x) and everytime we reboot, the IP address changes. This is quite annoying as I tend to use ThinkBroadbands ping monitor. I read somewhere that Sky have been moving people over for a while?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: MER to PPPoA

      Yes, most ADSL connections are being transferred back to PPPoA. It seems to coincide with the exchange going fibre. It does have the advantage of making it easier to use the router of your choice.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      nellisere's Avatar
      nellisere is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMBOSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2013
      Location
      Boston
      Posts
      86
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: MER to PPPoA

      Yeah our exchange has has fibre for about a year now I think, still no fibre on my street though And yeah I was hoping that's the case. Does that mean it's a simple get the username and password and connect, no more of that MAC spoofing shizzle?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: MER to PPPoA

      Does that mean it's a simple get the username and password and connect, no more of that MAC spoofing shizzle?
      Yes, getting the username and password from the SR101 is not exactly easy, but it can be done. From there is is fairly simple to set up any ADSL router you choose.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      nellisere's Avatar
      nellisere is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMBOSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2013
      Location
      Boston
      Posts
      86
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: MER to PPPoA

      I've still got the username from my old 2304, would they still work?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: MER to PPPoA

      It should do, but you can get the new one by following this guide.
      http://routerconfig.me/legacy/sky/Ob...outer%20v2.pdf

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      nellisere's Avatar
      nellisere is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMBOSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2013
      Location
      Boston
      Posts
      86
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: MER to PPPoA

      Just used the SR101 password as the old one wasn't working, even though the old router worked fine. So I now have a Netgear DGN1000 connected and working. Now I'm on PPPoA, they won't cut it off at all would they? Also my attenuation has dropped by 2dB! Looks like I'm phoning Sky to get DLM run again haha, always pushing for more speed.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: MER to PPPoA

      You are unlikely to be cut off. Recently lines have been changing back to PPPoA from MER, I have not seen any reports of it going the other way on ADSL lines.

      Having a lower attenuation is not in itself enough to get you a speed increase. Different routers measure the attenuation in different ways, so it can vary from router to router. What you are looking for is an increase in the noise margin, this would indicate more speed is available.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      nellisere's Avatar
      nellisere is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMBOSTO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2013
      Location
      Boston
      Posts
      86
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: MER to PPPoA

      That's alright then.

      I used to have an attenuation of 27.5dB on the Sky hub and a margin on 6dB, on the NEtgear it is now 24.8dB and 6.2dB. My line is capable of 3dB as I was on that for nearly a year, so I wanted Sky to run DLM to go back to 3dB as I know they can't do that manually.

      I phoned Sky and was told that they can't run DLM or manually reprofile a line anymore, as Sky told them not to, but didn't give them a reason.

    11. #10
      puppet's Avatar
      puppet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: MER to PPPoA

      I just came on and searched about this and stumbled across this thread. I've been on MER for quite some time, and my connection has always been spot on, and reliably connecting at circa 8Mbps. Have had a few drop outs this last week or so, and just checking just now I see I've moved to PPPoA, and my connection has dropped to under 5Mbps.

      Is the move back to PPPoA likely to have anything to do with the reduction in speed and/or reliability, or is it simply a means of authentication and nothing more?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION