Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    SR101 and Draytek 8280n

    This is a discussion on SR101 and Draytek 8280n within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I am a total newbie when it comes to networking. I am not happy with the WiFi the Sky ...

    1. #1
      Mark Warren's Avatar
      Mark Warren is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haslington Exchange, Queen Street, Crewe
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Location
      Crewe
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      SR101 and Draytek 8280n

      Hi,

      I am a total newbie when it comes to networking.

      I am not happy with the WiFi the Sky router gives out and so I am wanting to connect the Draytek 2820 to it via an ethernet cable (The SR101 is in one room and I want to put the 2820n in another room effectively extending the WiFi range)

      Firstly, can this be done and if it can can someone give me a step by step Networking for Dummies instructions on what to do.

      Many thanks

      Mark


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: SR101 and Draytek 8280n

      As you intend to use both routers to provide WiFi access points, please use this guide:

      How to connect two Routers together

      You will need to link the two together using either an Ethernet cable or a pair of HomePlugs.

      Had you intended to use the Vigor 2820n to run your LAN and not use the SR101 to provide WiFi access for your LAN, then this guide would have been sufficient:

      Using the DLink DIR613.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Mark Warren's Avatar
      Mark Warren is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haslington Exchange, Queen Street, Crewe
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Location
      Crewe
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SR101 and Draytek 8280n

      Hi Scubbie,

      Thanks for the reply. I did read the first article you have suggested but I don't know how/where to turn DHCP off in the Draytek or set the static IP. I have the manual but it doesn't even mention DHCP.

      I am hoping someone may have the same router = long shot I know

      Many thanks

      Mark

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: SR101 and Draytek 8280n

      Are you sure of the model number? I can't find any reference to it on the Draytek site, 28xx models only. The DHCP (Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol) is usually found in the LAN setup section.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Mark Warren's Avatar
      Mark Warren is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haslington Exchange, Queen Street, Crewe
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Location
      Crewe
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SR101 and Draytek 8280n

      Hi Isitme,

      Thank you for your reply. You are quite right the model number is a 2820n!! (very tired when typing the original post).

      I have head a look in the LAN settings (see picture below) but I am not sure what to do!

      Many thanks

      Mark

      SR101 and Draytek 8280n-router-lan-setup.jpg

    7. #6
      Mark Warren's Avatar
      Mark Warren is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haslington Exchange, Queen Street, Crewe
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Location
      Crewe
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SR101 and Draytek 8280n

      OK things have moved on a bit now.

      I have the Draytek connected and working

      Initial download speeds to my laptop connected wirelessly looked good at 12Mb down and 1Mb up.

      I tested again and the figure has dropped.

      Having just looked at the Sky routers statistics it is now showing Connection Speeds of 11293 kbps Upstream (previously 19996 kbps) and Upstream of 497 kbps (previously 1212 kbps).

      Why would connecting the Draytek router effect the connection between the Sky Router and the exchange?

      Any help would be appreciated.

      Many thanks

      Mark

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: SR101 and Draytek 8280n

      Having just looked at the Sky routers statistics it is now showing Connection Speeds of 11293 kbps Upstream (previously 19996 kbps) and Upstream of 497 kbps (previously 1212 kbps).
      It shouldn't do. You have connected using one of the ethernet ports on the Draytek and not the WAN port? In the LAN IP Network Config have you set the address to one in the range of the Sky router, something like 192.168.0.200? Leave the routing Disabled. In the DHCP server config, just tick Disable Server.

      I think in your place I would use the Draytek to connect to the Internet and use the SR101 as the extension should it be required.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Mark Warren's Avatar
      Mark Warren is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haslington Exchange, Queen Street, Crewe
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Location
      Crewe
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SR101 and Draytek 8280n

      Thanks again for your reply Isitme.

      Yes I have connected to one of the LAN ports and disabled the DHCP router.

      I would like to have the Draytek as the principle router but I don't feel confident enough to try getting hold of the username and password from the SR101.

      I am going to try disconnecting the Draytek again to see if the figures go back up.

      All the best

      Mark

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION