Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Poor Speed On Broadband Test

    This is a discussion on Poor Speed On Broadband Test within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My broadband is running really slowly, I run both a Mac and a laptop of the router, I have turned ...

    1. #1
      reesewardley's Avatar
      reesewardley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Poor Speed On Broadband Test

      My broadband is running really slowly, I run both a Mac and a laptop of the router, I have turned off the wifi but it has made no difference to the speed.

      I check with
      UK Broadband Speed Test - See Your Street with StreetStats? - Broadband Speed Checker - uSwitch.com

      and
      UK Broadband Speed Test - See Your Street with StreetStats? - Broadband Speed Checker - uSwitch.com

      My download speed is 0.6Mb
      My upload speed is 0.7Mb

      Which is extremely poor compared to the comparisons and on SKy it says 6.5Mb

      Does that mean that someone has hacked into my router or my neighbours are using my broadband?

      I have rebooted my router and I have reset it, but to no avail.

      Please any advice gratefully appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,190
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 336 Times in 327 Posts

      Re: Poor Speed On Broadband Test

      If you have turned off your router's wi-fi then nobody can be sharing your connection unless they have physical access to your router. Do you have a test socket behind the lower front panel of your master socket? If so can you perform a speed test with your router plugged directly into the test socket. Could you also post your current router stats and the stats when plugged into the test socket if they are different?

    4. #3
      reesewardley's Avatar
      reesewardley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor Speed On Broadband Test

      The socket is downstairs, there is an extension lead upstairs into my bedroom where my router is, and both computers are ethernet cabled to it. It would be impractical to unplug my computers and take them downstairs. There is no electricity plug near the main socket.

      My father has had a new dish fitted on the roof by sky, coincidentially the same time my speeds have dropped, for Sky HD television, the dish has been moved, this could affect my speed.

      I have had to replace my last router because that was hacked. I cannot get Sky fibre because it's not available in my area.

      Maybe the DNS is at fault?

      - - - Updated - - -

      I am going to reset my router for the third time, and try different settings on my router.

      Trouble is there are too many variables when manually adjusting the settings once logged into the router.

    5. #4
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,190
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 336 Times in 327 Posts

      Re: Poor Speed On Broadband Test

      Ok could you post your router stats? Do you know if your internet connection is affected when anyone makes a phone call? If the Sky HD box is connected to the telephone line could you temporarily disconnect it and see if that makes any difference to your stats?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Poor Speed On Broadband Test

      The socket is downstairs, there is an extension lead upstairs into my bedroom where my router is,
      If this is a standard flat telephone extension then you will definitely be loosing speed. If you must have an extension get a dedicated ADSL extension like this - NTE2000 ADSL Extension Kit, 10M

      Post your stats - How to get your Sky Router statistics

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: Poor Speed On Broadband Test

      you dont have to move computers downstairs just turn on wifi and connect router directly to master socket for the purpose of getting line stats form router , as you just had hd fitted it may be incorrectly installed check to see if filter is first connected to socket and hd is connected to filter (this may be reason speed drop) but as isitme says extension is most likely cause as they usually can be poor for bb even brand new
      as for wifi being hacked you can change the password in router to something else and more secure usually combination of number and letters and the larger the password more secure , can also change router login password as well username stays as admin but password can be changed to whatever you like and after that you can switch off router broadcasting ssid after computers connected so ssid cannot be seen by other ( can also change ssid as well)

    8. #7
      reesewardley's Avatar
      reesewardley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor Speed On Broadband Test

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 0:31:11
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 92040 120709 0 30967 80082 0:28:42
      LAN Up 64637 59588 0 34076 4104 0:31:11
      WLAN Down 0 0 0 0 0 0:00:00
      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 13456 kbps 960 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.0 dB 11.7 dB
      Noise Margin 7.8 dB 8.0 dB

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Poor Speed On Broadband Test

      With your present stats you should be getting a download speed of at least 12Mbps, with your line properly configured by DLM that could rise to around 18-19Mbps.

      Is that from the test socket?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      reesewardley's Avatar
      reesewardley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor Speed On Broadband Test

      with your line properly configured by DLM?

      Sorry to sound slow but how do I configure?

      Maybe it's either my Mac or my Laptop at fault, if I am getting the speeds I should be?

      I have switched on wifi but it hasn't made any difference to the speed

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Poor Speed On Broadband Test

      Sorry to sound slow but how do I configure?
      You don't it is done by Sky.

      Can you start your Laptop (Windows?) in Safe Mode with Networking and go here and do a speed Test. Sky User - Broadband Speed Tester

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION