Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    So I got my new Sky Hub

    This is a discussion on So I got my new Sky Hub within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I used to Get this (for over 2 years stable)... Then a few months back it dropped to this ADSL ...

    1. #1
      joe pineapples's Avatar
      joe pineapples is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBAL. (Balby)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      505
      Thanks
      79
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      So I got my new Sky Hub

      I used to Get this (for over 2 years stable)...

      So I got my new Sky Hub-t3o2.jpg

      Then a few months back it dropped to this

      ADSL Link Down Up
      Connection Speed 8377 kbps 838 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40.5 db 21.6 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 6.5 db

      So I decided to replace my old Sagem 2504 with the new Sky Hub (hoping I might claw back my original speed at least, with a possible lower snr target margin after line training again). When I first plugged it in, it sync'd more or less the same as above, but overtime (same day) dropped the snr down to around this this...

      So I got my new Sky Hub-w28l.jpg

      I haven't touched it since first switching it on and it has kept the same pattern every day....around 4.5 during the day and dropping to around 3 in the evenings (about the same drop difference as the Sagem), with no re-syncs/disconnections. Just not sure what is going on. Frustrated that the snr has gone down but the sync speed has stayed the same. Also a bit worried that if I reboot it, the system will see the lower snr and drop the sync even lower.

      Note that I haven't asked Sky to retrain my line yet and the 'mysky' website message above has remained the same.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,193
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 337 Times in 328 Posts

      Re: So I got my new Sky Hub

      Have you checked this with the router plugged into the test socket using the filter and cable supplied with the hub? The difference in noise margin between day and evening isn't that great but if it persists with the router plugged into the test socket you might like to check that all other phone sockets in the house are dead and do quiet line checks from the test socket using a corded telephone to hear if there is any discernible increase in line noise during the evening.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: So I got my new Sky Hub

      Can you plug your Sagem in again and see what result you get? Different routers perform differently on different lines. My SR101/2, DG834GT and Sagem 2504 all sync at about 11200kbps, but my DG934G only syncs at 10100 kbps. All with a 6+db margin.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      joe pineapples's Avatar
      joe pineapples is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBAL. (Balby)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      505
      Thanks
      79
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: So I got my new Sky Hub

      There is no test socket as such, as its an older BT master socket. It is plugged directly into that socket though using the same XF-1e filter and round RJ11 cable I used with the Sagem. No extensions and tried a quiet line test a while back with a corded phone. Only change between Sagem and New hub is location slightly different by about a foot.

      So I got my new Sky Hub-tx7k.jpg

      Sagem used to be flat under the unit (left in picture). I'd also previously (with the Sagem) swapped the XF-1e with a generic one and no difference (stayed at 7db at that time). I probably will test the SKy Hub with the cable it came with but tbh the round (molded ends) one I bought specially ought to be better quality, unless something has happened to it, but was fine with the Sagem

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Can you plug your Sagem in again and see what result you get? Different routers perform differently on different lines. My SR101/2, DG834GT and Sagem 2504 all sync at about 11200kbps, but my DG934G only syncs at 10100 kbps. All with a 6+db margin.
      Can do a bit later.

    6. #5
      joe pineapples's Avatar
      joe pineapples is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBAL. (Balby)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      505
      Thanks
      79
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: So I got my new Sky Hub

      Won't be able to try anything while tomorrow now, but just wondering if there's a set number of forced disconnections in a certain time period which will trigger line training?. I intend swapping out routers, cables etc a fair bit tomorrrow, but I don't want line training being invoked until I'm happier for it to do so.

      thanks
      joe

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION