Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sky and FTP Uploads

    This is a discussion on Sky and FTP Uploads within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Has anyone had any problems uploading to webspace since joining Sky? I have problems with authentication, and I am aware ...

    1. #1
      sao's Avatar
      sao
      sao is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke (THBZ)
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Sky and FTP Uploads

      Has anyone had any problems uploading to webspace since joining Sky?

      I have problems with authentication, and I am aware of a relative that has the same problem since joining Sky, and the webspace is from different providers.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      beethoven's Avatar
      beethoven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRWAL (LLU since Oct06)
      Broadband ISP: connect billed as 17 - 12 = 5
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ftp

      Yes I tried to upload to UKU with Ipswitch FTP programme. It told me "not allowed" so I assumed it had to go into UKU on the dial up connexion and thought no more of it. So I would be interested in what free FTP mail/website providers will work via SKYbroadband

    4. #3
      sao's Avatar
      sao
      sao is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke (THBZ)
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry You couldn't make it up...

      Well, I called Sky's 'Technical Support' and spoke to a nice woman that had never heard of the term 'FTP' and wanted me to spell it!!

      She eventually asked someone else and they told her to get me to switch off my firewall as "that is causing the problem"... Failing that she told me to speak to the FTP manufacturer!

      I am under the impression that 'Sky staff' read this site - Perhaps if this is a known problem, they could address it?

    5. #4
      Christopher's Avatar
      Christopher is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sacriston
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Durham
      Posts
      78
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      oh my god they are an ISP and they dont know what FTP is, haha well sky have a bit of catching up to do dont they in terms of educating their staff... mind BT are no better, one person there once thought linux was an application under windows?!?!

    6. #5
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      ive not had any problem with FTP and i got a few accounts here and there and they all work fine, i use smartFTP
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    7. #6
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts
      I use FTP Surfer and like SatDish don't have any problems since joining Sky.

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Quote Originally Posted by sao View Post

      I am under the impression that 'Sky staff' read this site - Perhaps if this is a known problem, they could address it?

      Maybe they should read the glossary so they know what FTP stands for




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION