Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    snr just gone up

    This is a discussion on snr just gone up within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys and Girls been a broadband customer since the beginning of July, after 3 days my connection settled and ...

    1. #1
      lastofthetimelords's Avatar
      lastofthetimelords is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Huyton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      In the TARDIS
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      snr just gone up

      Hi guys and Girls

      been a broadband customer since the beginning of July, after 3 days my connection settled and has been performing great upstream snr between 5.5 and 6 db, giving me approx 3.5 mb download, uptime was approaching 5 weeks yesterday router lost sync and reconnected my downstream snr has gone right up its now 13.4 downstream, will the dslam sort it out or will i have to have the connection reset manually? any advice gratefully accepted, I am connected to master socket no extensions and using a new BT openrerach fitted filtered faceplate
      regards


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: snr just gone up

      post all your stats ie speeds attenuation for up/downstream because if your snr has gone up then you should be getting more bb speeds if this has been reprofiled by dlm

    4. #3
      lastofthetimelords's Avatar
      lastofthetimelords is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Huyton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      In the TARDIS
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: snr just gone up

      as if by magic snr has returned to 6dB my connection speed was over 3.5 meg, not sure what happened there seems to be less than 2 meg
      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1958 kbps 798 kbps
      Line Attenuation 58.0 dB 35.5 dB
      Noise Margin 6.3 dB 11.11 dB
      all seems not well now

    5. #4
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: snr just gone up

      if your snr is shifting about would indicate a fault on the line or localised interference post your stats from test socket with just router and recheck with a different filter

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: snr just gone up

      You might also download and run Routerstats Lite for a few days to show how your noise margin is behaving.
      Internet Software

      On the Graphs tab, set up the Sample Interval for every 60 Secs with 480 points per page. This will give you 8 hours per graph.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      lastofthetimelords's Avatar
      lastofthetimelords is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Huyton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      In the TARDIS
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: snr just gone up

      have installed Routerstats Lite as instructed, I do not have any filters I'm using a bt openreach fitted VDSL Interstitial faceplate, the only thing connected to it is my phone and my hub, I have done 17070 quiet line test, which reports back no echo and very little noise, all was well with the connection until Saturday afternoon snr was always around 6 down and 11 up, 3.5 meg down speed i did re-synch today @ 6db noise and 3.6 mb speed but it's since gone back to 13.6db noise and less than 2 mb downstream
      Last edited by lastofthetimelords; 10-09-13 at 09:33 AM.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: snr just gone up

      Have you noticed, does the noise margin change much when using the phone?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      lastofthetimelords's Avatar
      lastofthetimelords is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Huyton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      In the TARDIS
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: snr just gone up

      not a jot, line is uber quiet can't understand as to why the line could be stable for almost 5 weeks no drops, with snr of only 6db then all of a sudden mayhem
      Last edited by lastofthetimelords; 10-09-13 at 10:51 PM.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: snr just gone up

      Unfortunately things do go wrong, the insulation on the wiring can break down, a joint can be disturbed by wind, water or even an engineer working in close proximity to it. Nothing lasts forever.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      lastofthetimelords's Avatar
      lastofthetimelords is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Huyton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      In the TARDIS
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: snr just gone up

      we hd engineers at a neighbours house last week, coincedence i'm not sure, router stats lite been running for a couple of days snr has returned to normal just over 24 hours ago and my speed is about where i expect it to be, i will keep monitoring

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION