Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 32
    Like Tree3Likes

    Just downgraded from fibre to ADSL

    This is a discussion on Just downgraded from fibre to ADSL within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Update, day 6....

    1. #21
      RADZ1973's Avatar
      RADZ1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      Hastings UK
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Just downgraded from fibre to ADSL

      Update, day 6.



    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      RADZ1973's Avatar
      RADZ1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      Hastings UK
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Just downgraded from fibre to ADSL

      Update, day 7.


    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Just downgraded from fibre to ADSL

      Looks like you did not get a resync in the early hours, so that's probably it. Not very good for your attenuation really. You do seem to have a poor quality line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #24
      RADZ1973's Avatar
      RADZ1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      Hastings UK
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Just downgraded from fibre to ADSL

      It will be 10 days on Monday so will call them up and ask what can be done.

    6. #25
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Just downgraded from fibre to ADSL

      Interesting it's used a target noise margin of 3db.

      I'm sure it's a lot more complicated than this, but presumably at some point DLM has to decide whether to use a 3db margin with high INP or a 6db margin with low INP.

      What are your pings to 212.58.241.131 (BBC) like RADZ?

    7. #26
      RADZ1973's Avatar
      RADZ1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      Hastings UK
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Just downgraded from fibre to ADSL

      Here.

      gymno likes this.

    8. #27
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Just downgraded from fibre to ADSL

      I didn't expect that.
      23 is excellent.

      Regarding the speed, i did find this thread earlier today by another sky customer with the same attenuation as you, but only achieving 7mbps sync.

      Unfortunately, it does illustrate how, if the line is both stable & within the estimate given at the point of sale, it's often very difficult to get things improved.

    9. #28
      RADZ1973's Avatar
      RADZ1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      Hastings UK
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Just downgraded from fibre to ADSL

      I just wish i could get a little more up and down, i would be happy with 14-16 for 7.50. Better than me paying 20 for 26d/l on fibre thats why i switched back.

    10. #29
      RADZ1973's Avatar
      RADZ1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      Hastings UK
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Just downgraded from fibre to ADSL

      Update, day 8.



      Looks like this is my best as have not re-synced since Thursady morning.

    11. #30
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Just downgraded from fibre to ADSL

      Looks good. I have seen a few who have had their lines slow down after a few days, but it will be interesting to see what happens.

      As for '10 days' this isn't strictly 100% true.

      Most complete the initial DLM process within this period (7 days seems to be quite common), but it is possible for it to take up to 20 days.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION