Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    New Router

    This is a discussion on New Router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I'm currently still on the original netgear router that was supplied around 5 years ago when I signed up, ...

    1. #1
      evil_scoff's Avatar
      evil_scoff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Router

      Hi

      I'm currently still on the original netgear router that was supplied around 5 years ago when I signed up, and frankly its creaking, so I was looking to upgrade to a TP-Link TD-W8980 N600, as it looks good value for money.

      Now, I'm told sky don't allow 3rd party routers, so am I stuck with the old router? I'm quite technically minded, so I know how to get the log in details from my current router, however I don't want to waste 70 on something that isn't going to work.

      anyone have one of these routers successfully working on sky broadband?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      RADZ1973's Avatar
      RADZ1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      Hastings UK
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: New Router

      Which model number is you netgear.

    4. #3
      evil_scoff's Avatar
      evil_scoff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router

      Going from memory as I'm at work, but I believe its the DG834 or 934

    5. #4
      RADZ1973's Avatar
      RADZ1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      Hastings UK
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: New Router

      Looks like your in luck go here https://www.cm9.net/skypass/index.cgi

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to RADZ1973 For This Useful Post:

      evil_scoff (22-08-13)

    7. #5
      evil_scoff's Avatar
      evil_scoff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router

      cool I can't get to that site at work (blocked), however I'm guessing it gives me the logon credentials to the sky system? so once I've got all that info is there any other issues with a new router, can sky block it? (well I guess they can, but do they?)

      Thanks for the help so far

    8. #6
      RADZ1973's Avatar
      RADZ1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      Hastings UK
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: New Router

      You should be able to access that web page fine at home, but it will say proceed at your own risk. As for router im no expert but once you have your login info i believe you just wire up new router and enter the details and away you go. Im sure someone like scubbie or isitme will answer soon to give you a definite answer.

    9. #7
      evil_scoff's Avatar
      evil_scoff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Router

      I think what concerns me is reading about the MER connection protocol, I'm not sure if the modem i mentioned supports it.

    10. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Router

      If you are happy to stay with Sky for another 12 months, give them a ring tell them you are having problems with your old router and see if they will give you one foc, many have done it and pay only postage.

      Check if your present router is using MER, if it is it may also support PPPoA, if it doesn't there are few routers that you can connect using MER. I don't think the one you mention is one of them.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #9
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,461
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: New Router

      I did it for my parents today as they have an old d-link

      it was 2.18 if you agree to a further 12 months recontract on the broadband
      and the SR101 will be here within 3 days

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION