Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 48
    Like Tree1Likes

    Rein issue

    This is a discussion on Rein issue within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; that's the constant rein affect on my broadband i am now connected at 1.5meg capped my next door neighbour has ...

    1. #1
      andy585's Avatar
      andy585 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irvine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Rein issue

      Rein issue-rein-issue.jpg

      that's the constant rein affect on my broadband i am now connected at 1.5meg capped
      my next door neighbour has 0.3meg so i should count myself lucky
      sfi engineer seems to think it a communal sat amplifier that's causing the rein there is no let up on the noise no spikes so that rules out timed devices
      when i go walkabout around the cul-de-sac its really hard to pin point the source with my am/mw radio
      thing is when i put the radio near the wall inside my livingroom where i know the sat cable is behind its really noisey
      i know the flat has a loft would that be where the sat amp is kept ??
      heres is a short video of noise
      any advice here ???

      my local factor has been contacted this morning
      Last edited by andy585; 16-08-13 at 03:11 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Rein issue

      To be honest, your noise margin is not showing much more than 1 db variance which should not cause much of a problem. All lines have a bit of interference, yours does not look that bad. Have you asked Sky to increase your speed? A paste of the stats from your router may be helpful.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      andy585's Avatar
      andy585 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irvine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rein issue

      Stats to follow

    5. #4
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: Rein issue

      Those stats you posted are not indicative of REIN unless the problem isn't occurring at the moment.

      REIN would cause a large and usually very sudden shift in SNRM if you were also graphing the bit-loading I'd expect to see a load of bitswaps occuring as well.

      It's possible due to the reduced frequency usage on your capped profile that the REIN is there but not affecting your connection as much but without a detailed capture of what the line is doing over a reasonable period (12hr +) it's hard to make more than a guess.

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to dragon2611 For This Useful Post:

      andy585 (12-09-13)

    7. #5
      andy585's Avatar
      andy585 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irvine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rein issue

      ROUTER STATISTICS

      System Up Time: 46:18:46
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 11227 491440 0 781 1040 1:54:55
      LAN Up 463335 355226 0 4025 1209 46:18:46
      WLAN Up 224069 193955 0 25 17 46:18:24
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1531 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.0 dB 31.7 dB
      Noise Margin 5.7 dB 16.0 dB

    8. #6
      andy585's Avatar
      andy585 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irvine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rein issue

      i have noticed my line attenuation has went up from 47.5 to 51 now


      i have just phoned sky and asked if they could put my speed up from 1.5meg to 2.0meg
      System Up Time: 46:37:21
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN MER 75 494186 0 0 0 0:03:49
      LAN Up 481337 370430 0 5721 486 46:37:21
      WLAN Up 226229 195708 0 25 21 46:36:59
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2046 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.0 dB 31.7 dB
      Noise Margin 7.0 dB 16.0 dB

    9. #7
      andy585's Avatar
      andy585 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irvine
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rein issue

      noise margin has jumped up at around half 10 this morning to 10.7db and is currently at 16.3db

      Rein issue-rein.jpg

    10. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Rein issue

      I could be wrong, but are you not looking at the upstream noise margin? Can compare the downstream stats from your router with the corresponding period in RSL?

      I don't think it is REIN, more likely a poor or faulty line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #9
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: Rein issue

      Quote Originally Posted by andy585 View Post
      noise margin has jumped up at around half 10 this morning to 10.7db and is currently at 16.3db

      Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rein.jpg 
Views:	188 
Size:	56.0 KB 
ID:	4502
      You need to set the software to generate a graph that covers a longer period ideally at least several hours.

    12. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Rein issue

      Good point Dragon! If you set the Sample Interval on the Graphs tab to 60 seconds and the Points per page to 480, this will give you a period of 8 hours per graph.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION