Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Too late to cancel?

    This is a discussion on Too late to cancel? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I've been using Max for 1 month. First 6 days since the activation date was a nightmare. It was ...

    1. #1
      t49lnh3ybt's Avatar
      t49lnh3ybt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Worcester Park
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Too late to cancel?

      Hi, I've been using Max for 1 month. First 6 days since the activation date was a nightmare. It was slower than dial-up and constantly disconnected. I called sky call centre but, it was useless. I also tried "Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix" but, it didn't work. On 8th day I decided to cancel but, suddenly the broadband went faster as nearly its normal speed and there was no disconnection as usual. So, I changed my mind not to cancel it. The broadband was stable and fast for 2 weeks. But, this week the connection speed has been 8mb and kept disconnecting frequently.

      I know I should've cancel it within 8 days since the activation date but, I want to cancel the broadband now. The connection speed is slower than the speed mentioned in the contract and it keeps disconnecting. So, am I eligible to cancel without any charge? If I have to pay to cancel it, How much would it cost?

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      t49lnh3ybt's Avatar
      t49lnh3ybt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Worcester Park
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Anyone?

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Of course you can cancel though I doubt it would be cost free as you're out of your cooling off period.

      You don't have a contract for a specified speed. SkyMaxBB is an up to 16 meg service.

      Why don't you try and fix your connection problems? A little reading on this forum will usually show you how to fix the most obvious problems - sometimes it's as simple as changing a filter or unticking a box in the router configuration.

      If you're stuck then post details of the problems you're experiencing. Most importantly you need to let us know your router connection stats.

    5. #4
      t49lnh3ybt's Avatar
      t49lnh3ybt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Worcester Park
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for the reply. I was really busy these days. but, I think I have almost fixed it.

      I called sky cs and checked the line and the exchange. They were fine. Then I removed the flatplate and connected the adsl filter into the test socket.

      The results..

      The master socket
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 43 43 0 499 143 00:00:36
      LAN 10M/100M 1834 2153 0 1669 639 00:11:06
      WLAN 11M/54M/108M 125 0 0 18 0 00:10:56

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7776 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 17.0 db 8.0 db
      Noise Margin 14.8 db 14.0 db
      The test socket
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 22674 22572 0 1025 15865 00:24:01
      LAN 10M/100M 22907 23083 0 15052 1304 00:25:57
      WLAN 11M/54M/108M 82 0 0 7 0 00:25:47

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7776 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 17.0 db 8.0 db
      Noise Margin 15.1 db 14.0 db
      The connection speed is the same and the noise margin has a little diffrence. The line attenuation has been rock solid since the activation date. So, I assume that it's nothing to do with the socket.

      After that I found out an interesting fact. I couldn't acess the internet(you know the server is not found page) but, I could chat with my friends using msn messenger. Also I checked the log of the router and there was no "LCP down" message! Does the router cause this problem?

      If the router is causing the probelm, should I flash netgear firmware on it or use another adsl2 router?

    6. #5
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Alot of people are forgetting those two words - UP TO!

      You cant really complain about that as all you would get in return is, Sir, The product is sold to you on the basis of Upto!

    7. #6
      t49lnh3ybt's Avatar
      t49lnh3ybt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Worcester Park
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I couldn't acess the internet(you know the server is not found page) but, I could chat with my friends using msn messenger. Also I checked the log of the router and there was no "LCP down" message!
      Anyone experiencing the similar problem?

    8. #7
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      If you can use some services and not others it may be a firewall setting

    9. #8
      t49lnh3ybt's Avatar
      t49lnh3ybt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Worcester Park
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I checked the router configuration but, the setting was factory default. Is it something to do with the firmware?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION