Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Can a Sky Hub be put to any use once you leave sky broadband?

    This is a discussion on Can a Sky Hub be put to any use once you leave sky broadband? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have just left sky broadband for BT (for the BT sport offer). I always try and put old routers ...

    1. #1
      pdoherty76's Avatar
      pdoherty76 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can a Sky Hub be put to any use once you leave sky broadband?

      I have just left sky broadband for BT (for the BT sport offer). I always try and put old routers to use by flashing them with generic firmware and did this successfully with old sky and tiscali routers.

      The problem, of course, is that the sky hub is proprietary but is it completely locked down? Is there any way this could be configured to be used on another broadband provider?

      Seems such a shame to either bin it or send it back to them for "recycling."


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can a Sky Hub be put to any use once you leave sky broadband?

      The only way you can use it is to piggyback it on to your main router, maybe if you want to extend your wireless network. It can't be connected directly to any other ISP.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Can a Sky Hub be put to any use once you leave sky broadband?

      You can sell it as someone might want to "upgrade" to a hub via eBay or similar.

      Another Sky customer can use it but users of other ISP's can't.

    5. #4
      pdoherty76's Avatar
      pdoherty76 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can a Sky Hub be put to any use once you leave sky broadband?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The only way you can use it is to piggyback it on to your main router, maybe if you want to extend your wireless network. It can't be connected directly to any other ISP.
      It would be useful if I could use it as a wireless bridge to connect my sky box to my BT router but I can't see an option for that mode either.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can a Sky Hub be put to any use once you leave sky broadband?

      Quote Originally Posted by pdoherty76 View Post
      It would be useful if I could use it as a wireless bridge to connect my sky box to my BT router but I can't see an option for that mode either.
      You cannot use it as a wireless bridge, you can only connect it to the BT Hub by ethernet, either cable or Homeplug.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION