Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Broadband dropping

    This is a discussion on Broadband dropping within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Definitely agree with Tom there about the filtered faceplate. The VDSL filtered faceplate is the easiest to fit, provides the ...

    1. #11
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Broadband dropping

      Definitely agree with Tom there about the filtered faceplate. The VDSL filtered faceplate is the easiest to fit, provides the best filtration but is the more expensive.

      Should the router appear to be on-line again but you are unable to access the Internet, could I ask you to look at the Logs on the router? If you are unsure what they mean, please paste them in this thread (use the 'PHP' button in the Advanced post). This information is lost when you power cycle the router so please get it before you do this. Copy & paste it into a Notepad document if it helps.

      It is also important to know that if you frequently power cycle the router, then the DLM software interprets this as a line fault.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Broadband dropping

      Quote Originally Posted by marcusl89 View Post
      thank you for helping me, so is it ok to use the test socket until i buy a new face plate tomorrow?
      It is perfectly alright to do this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #13
      Marko9Gardinic's Avatar
      Marko9Gardinic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband dropping

      Sorry for hijacking the thread, I've been posting on Sky's own forum about having the exact same problem as the OP, but dont seem to be getting anywhere. I've been on the gaming profile for over 5 years now and never had any problems, speedwise my connection isnt great but thats never been a concern to me as I dont download anything, I only really use broadband for gaming. In the past few weeks my connection has been randomly cutting out altogether forcing me to reset the router, or like the OP describes it seems to drop even though the green lights on the router are still on. Sometimes it only lasts for say 10-20 seconds then goes back to normal, but when its happening in the middle of a game its very frustrating (not just for me but my opponents!)

      Ive went through this thread and I think I've managed to cover all the previous questions, so any advice or help would be greatly appreciated!

      First of all, I had been connecting to my consoles wired from the upstairs socket. In the upstairs socket I had only the router plugged into a filter, while downstairs I have the filter with the connection from the Sky HD box and the landline phone plugged into it. My stats at the time before testing other sockets etc were -


      System Up Time: 186:05:28
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up TimeWANLANWLAN
      PPPoA 1237566 1490239 0 264 2022 186:03:52
      100M/Full 280179 241289 0 108 44 186:05:23
      11M/54M 1266142 1026367 0 1958 233 186:05:11
      ADSL Link Downstream UpstreamConnection SpeedLine AttenuationNoise Margin
      2995 kbps 718 kbps
      57 db 34 db
      6 db 9 db

      Then when I went downstairs and connected the router to the test socket, I got this -


      ort Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up TimeWANLANWLAN
      PPPoA 10571 13949 0 4401 29400 00:08:58
      100M/Full 479 0 0 176 0 00:10:29
      11M/54M 14676 11626 0 26311 4097 00:10:17
      ADSL Link Downstream UpstreamConnection SpeedLine AttenuationNoise Margin
      4091 kbps 796 kbps
      56 db 33 db
      4 db 3 db

      And then around 10 mins or so after that, I noticed my stats changed when I unplugged my landline phone, is this just a coincidence? -

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up TimeWANLANWLAN
      PPPoA 14919 18510 0 1897 11441 00:27:57
      100M/Full 619 0 0 87 0 00:29:28
      11M/54M 20408 17166 0 11449 1987 00:29:16
      ADSL Link Downstream UpstreamConnection SpeedLine AttenuationNoise Margin
      4091 kbps 796 kbps
      56 db 33 db
      6 db 11 db


      Sorry for such a long post, I've copied some bits from the Sky Forum that I posted in so I apologise if the tables on the stats arent properly aligned. I should have came here in the first place, I remember getting some help a long time ago when I first joined Sky on here I now have the router plugged into the downstairs socket at the moment, although the stats have changed again since yesterday when I last checked them. Ideally I need the router back upstairs so I can connect wired for gaming, using wireless just causes horrendous lag for me

      System Up Time: 23:03:55
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 57057 61951 0 131 616 23:02:19
      LAN 100M/Full 4079 0 0 7 0 23:03:50
      WLAN 11M/54M 65763 60725 0 631 136 23:03:38
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2937 kbps 778 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55 db 33 db
      Noise Margin 8 db 8 db

    5. #14
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Broadband dropping

      Whilst there is little difference in your attenuation, you are getting connected at just over 1Mbps more in the test socket. This could indicate an issue with your internal wiring or interference within your property. If possible, try leaving the router plugged in to the test socket and see if you still experience any dropouts.

    6. #15
      Marko9Gardinic's Avatar
      Marko9Gardinic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband dropping

      Quote Originally Posted by mattan View Post
      Whilst there is little difference in your attenuation, you are getting connected at just over 1Mbps more in the test socket. This could indicate an issue with your internal wiring or interference within your property. If possible, try leaving the router plugged in to the test socket and see if you still experience any dropouts.
      Many thanks for the reply. If the issue is with the internal wiring how would I go about getting something like that fixed? When my landline phone rings, my connection goes crazy, luckily no-one phones my landline often! Would that indicate the problem is with the wiring also?

    7. #16
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Broadband dropping

      The first thing would be to fit and use a filtered faceplate. Currently the best available is the VDSL faceplate. It is a few pounds dearer than the others but is easier to fit as well.

      BT vDSL NTE5 Filtered Faceplate|Interstitial Faceplate

      This would mean that you will need to use the Master Socket for your router as the extensions won't work.

      First confirm that the Test Socket is working well as it is possible there may be something else causing you the problem.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #17
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Broadband dropping

      Definitely check using the test socket first as Scubbie has suggested. If you are still getting issues when the phone rings, then you should give Sky Talk a call and raise a line fault.

      I'll second the use of the VDSL faceplate. Even I managed to fit it without breaking anything.

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband dropping

      If the phone is effecting the connection badly when the phone rings, either the filter is faulty or the ring wire itself is causing the problem. As others have said, plugging the router into the master socket is always best, but you could try disconnecting the ring wire and see if that helps. The ring wire, usually orange, is the one connected to the number 3 terminal in the line boxes, just pull it off, being careful not to disturb the wires on the 2 and 5 terminals as these are the active wires. As you are using a filter, the phone should still ring.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      Marko9Gardinic's Avatar
      Marko9Gardinic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband dropping

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post

      First confirm that the Test Socket is working well as it is possible there may be something else causing you the problem.
      I've been connected to the test socket for the last 24 hours, all was well until within the last hour I've been cut off twice (each time it was off for around 2mins before coming back on, no colour change on router lights or anything). Tried laptop and mobile phone just to make sure it wasnt the laptop not working or anything like that. This is the stats I'm getting

      System Up Time: 25:08:24
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1267 1250 0 3306 8247 00:01:14
      LAN 100M/Full 510799 481741 0 1630 655 25:08:20
      WLAN 11M/54M 160521 143750 0 1460 341 25:08:08
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3811 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56 db 33 db
      Noise Margin 4 db 10 db

    11. #20
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Broadband dropping

      In this case I would call Sky and let them know.

      You either have a line fault or a faulty router.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION