Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17
    Like Tree4Likes

    Switched to Sky, not going well...

    This is a discussion on Switched to Sky, not going well... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Thanks for all advice, spoke with Sky tonight and got through to the most helpful advisor I have spoken to ...

    1. #11
      kitch217's Avatar
      kitch217 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Coningsby
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2013
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Switched to Sky, not going well...

      Thanks for all advice, spoke with Sky tonight and got through to the most helpful advisor I have spoken to so far. Phone line test show clear but further test by CS team show noise and errors on broadband side, so on way to being sorted by broadband engineer.
      James_478 and mattan like this.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      James_478's Avatar
      James_478 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aycliffe [NEAYC]
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      117
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Switched to Sky, not going well...

      Glad to hear this, hopefully it all gets sorted very quickly

    4. #13
      kitch217's Avatar
      kitch217 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Coningsby
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2013
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Switched to Sky, not going well...

      Hi, just to update all now sorted after open reach engineer visit. Down to fault at the exchange now connected as below all happy!

      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 19991 kbps 1212 kbps
      Line Attenuation 19.5 dB 11.1 dB
      Noise Margin 6.0 dB 9.9 dB
      Scubbie and seawright like this.

    5. #14
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Switched to Sky, not going well...

      An excellent set of stats there. Well done.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      kitch217 (12-06-13)

    7. #15
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: Switched to Sky, not going well...

      Sigh shouldn't have needed the "wait for DLM" answer there was clearly a problem there.

      The SNRM on the upstream was way off as was the attenuation figure seen when the homehub was plugged in, had to either be a faulty filter (which you already ruled out) or a bad connection somewhere.

      Usually see those kind of stats when one leg of the pair is broken but you're close enough to the exchange to still get some broadband service, however if that was true the phone wouldn't have worked at all so no idea what they managed to do there, wonder if they still got some wires crossed somewhere.

    8. #16
      kitch217's Avatar
      kitch217 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Coningsby
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2013
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Switched to Sky, not going well...

      Engineer told me there was a fault with the equipment in the exchange and he moved me to a new port?

      From Sky's point of view it was frustrating to be told on multiple occasions you have to wait from DLM even if you know this to be wrong and it is a sad fact with a lot of major corporations you have to moan/raise your voice to be taken seriously. There is also seems to be a lot of pot luck these days with who you get through to. I phoned up at the end of last week to moan/raise my voice but got through to the most helpful person on first line support I had spoken to so far. He took my complaint seriously and escalated it to the next level up, from which point I had several phone calls from Sky to arrange sorting it out/explaining what was happening and cannot fault the service from that point.

    9. #17
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: Switched to Sky, not going well...

      Quote Originally Posted by kitch217 View Post
      Engineer told me there was a fault with the equipment in the exchange and he moved me to a new port?

      From Sky's point of view it was frustrating to be told on multiple occasions you have to wait from DLM even if you know this to be wrong and it is a sad fact with a lot of major corporations you have to moan/raise your voice to be taken seriously. There is also seems to be a lot of pot luck these days with who you get through to. I phoned up at the end of last week to moan/raise my voice but got through to the most helpful person on first line support I had spoken to so far. He took my complaint seriously and escalated it to the next level up, from which point I had several phone calls from Sky to arrange sorting it out/explaining what was happening and cannot fault the service from that point.
      Without knowing what kind of tools the 1st line techs have access to it's not possible for me to guess if they'd have been able to diagnose it properly.

      It depends if they're provided with the DSL stats from the Exchange equipment and if they're technical enough to actually understand the stats even if they were presented with them. Also depends if Skys policies let them think for themselves or if they're mandated to read through a script.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION