Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Another encryption problem

    This is a discussion on Another encryption problem within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, a couple of weeks ago I had a problem connecting a housemate's laptop. Turned out to be a simple ...

    1. #1
      mark_21's Avatar
      mark_21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Another encryption problem

      Hi, a couple of weeks ago I had a problem connecting a housemate's laptop. Turned out to be a simple case of using WEP encryption instead of WPA. Easy - thanks.

      The problem now is that he can't connect again. WEP settings and everything else seems fine, it can see the router, and has 85-100% signal strength etc but can't connect to the internet or the routers IP address unless encryption is off. My computer connects fine using wireless.

      Have tried re-entering the 64bit and 128bit WEP passwordy-code things, rebooting the computer and router in between but still no joy. His wireless card doesn't support WPA.

      I've turned encryption off for now so he can connect, but don't really want to keep it that way.

      Any ideas?

      Mark.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      you could try using wireless zero configuration - that is sometimes better at handling older card encryption

    4. #3
      fredrex's Avatar
      fredrex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: highway
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      coventry
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry laptop problem

      not connected yet but spent 3 hours tring to get router set up. desktop no probs with WEP security. WPA no good because of netgear USB adapter I used with my old router. Laptop I can only get to communicate with router with security disabled. Trying to get these probs sorted but still waiting for nearly 6 weeks re cabling problem at the exchange.

    5. #4
      fredrex's Avatar
      fredrex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: highway
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      coventry
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      laptop problem

      that was 3 hours with sky support and they will phone back tomorrow !!!

    6. #5
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts
      dont hold your breath

    7. #6
      mark_21's Avatar
      mark_21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by mark_21 View Post
      I've turned encryption off for now so he can connect, but don't really want to keep it that way.
      Ok, so I turn off encryption and it works. This morning it stops working. Encryption still off at both ends. Reboot his laptop, turn router from auto108 to b/g only & soft reboot, and it starts working.

      Not sure which action got it working again, but if it's still working in a day or two I'll turn WEP on and hope it keeps working. Thread won't be resolved until I try that.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION