Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    No phone, no microfilter?

    This is a discussion on No phone, no microfilter? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Can I assume that if I plug my new router into a socket, that I don't need a microfilter if ...

    1. #1
      iantresman's Avatar
      iantresman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sandbach
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Humax HB1000S
      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No phone, no microfilter?

      Can I assume that if I plug my new router into a socket, that I don't need a microfilter if I am not going to plug a phone into the same socket.

      My phone is plugged into an extension socket, which has its own microfilter.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: No phone, no microfilter?

      Strictly speaking, no, you don't need a filter if you are not plugging in a phone or other device. However you need some way to convert the RJ11 plug to standard phone, so why not use a filter which does the conversion for you. I suppose you could use a phone to RJ11 convertor or a modem cable with a phone connection if you wish, if you have either of these,

      If you have any reason to phone Sky support, they will insist on you plugging in a filter.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      iantresman's Avatar
      iantresman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sandbach
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Humax HB1000S
      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No phone, no microfilter?

      Thanks for that. I already have an extension cable with an RJ-11 socket, but if I hadn't, then the microfilter would have been on my list.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: No phone, no microfilter?

      I hope the extension is made up using twisted pair cable if it is anything over about 2M.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      barrymung's Avatar
      barrymung is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2013
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No phone, no microfilter?

      I think I read somewhere that one of the Telephony Acts requires that a phone is plugged in, for emergency purposes.


      However, on a practical level I'm sure no one would complain if you don't.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION