Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Slow DS after home move

    This is a discussion on Slow DS after home move within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all I moved house recently from a property that was getting about 2mbps to a property that's rated between ...

    1. #1
      kieransymes's Avatar
      kieransymes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWCRS (Cwmbran)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow DS after home move

      Hi all

      I moved house recently from a property that was getting about 2mbps to a property that's rated between 13 to 20mbps.

      The line was activated yesterday and I connected my equipment up to a line in the house. Initially I got 4mbps but it went up to 7 Mbps overnight but seems to have stayed at that speed. I assumed Sky were doing their usual line checks so logged into the My Account part of their site and it says they aren't currently testing the line.

      My question is, is it okay for me to reboot and move my router to the master socket or could DLM be running?

      Where the router is at the moment give me a downstream of 15db which according to an online calculator should give me a downstream rate of about 22mbps. Surely with those stats, I should be getting a faster rate regardless of the extension?

      Any advice would be appreciated

      Thanks
      -kie.


      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7002 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.0 dB 8.3 dB
      Noise Margin 12.9 dB 18.18 dB


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      mattan's Avatar
      mattan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSSWN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      489
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Slow DS after home move

      DLM is still likely to be running. Usually when it has finished, you get a message saying what you d/stream and u/stream has been been set at.

      You can move your router, but don't do it repeatedly over a short space of time otherwise it will be seen as an unstable line. DLM usually re-syncs the router overnight, but can do it every 48 hours. If it hasn't re-synced for 3 days and your speed is stuck, you could always give them a call, but better to wait for it to complete.

    4. #3
      kieransymes's Avatar
      kieransymes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWCRS (Cwmbran)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow DS after home move

      Hi Mattan

      That's all I needed to know thanks

      I figured that the bit online saying the line Isn't being tested could be wrong.

      Do you think it's worth moving the router to my master socket given the stats I have?

      I guess it would make sense to move it and see if my line attenuations reduce?

      Thanks again
      -kie.

    5. #4
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: Slow DS after home move

      There is no harm in powering the router down once to move it
      but i wouldnt go powering it down anymore for the next 5 or 6 days
      after that

      do it in the daytime

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow DS after home move

      I guess it would make sense to move it and see if my line attenuations reduce?
      Your wiring would have to be very bad to give you a worthwhile decrease in the attenuation. What you may get is an increase in the noise margin. Your present attenuation puts you in the 21-22Mb range.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION