Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    How to connect two routers together and extend my Sky router network?

    This is a discussion on How to connect two routers together and extend my Sky router network? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Now I've got two routers. Let's call them A and B. Router A is connected to the phone line via ...

    1. #1
      os40's Avatar
      os40 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Windsor Exchange
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Windsor
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How to connect two routers together and extend my Sky router network?

      Now I've got two routers. Let's call them A and B.

      Router A is connected to the phone line via ADSL.

      Router B is standard broadband router which I am intending to use to lengthen my internet access (as the point of this thread).

      Now I've got my 25m cable.

      I have set it up as so:


      When I connected it, I didn't get any internet access on my second PC or PS3. It doesn't work at all. I tried accessing the router login page using PC1, and for some bizarre reason, it logged me on the router setup for PC2.

      I'm not sure what brand my primary router is (it's a 'Sky broadband router', although I think it's a D-Link). My secondary router is a Netgear DG834PN.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: How to connect two routers together and extend my Sky router network?

      Try reading the guide in this thread:

      How to connect two Routers together

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      os40's Avatar
      os40 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Windsor Exchange
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Windsor
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect two routers together and extend my Sky router network?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Try reading the guide in this thread:

      How to connect two Routers together
      Thanks. That worked.

      However, on my second PC, the network keeps on dropping out! Every minute it will quickly disconnect and reconnect. Pretty damn annoying to be honest.

      I tried using a replacement ethernet cable. It made no difference. Could my Netgear router be at fault? Unfortunately I don't have any other routers so I can't quite test it out.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: How to connect two routers together and extend my Sky router network?

      Anything is possible until proven otherwise. Depending on what kind of error you are getting will determine where to start looking.

      What I would suggest is to plug the 25m Ethernet cable directly into the PC first to see what happens first.

      If the 25m Ethernet cable works fine whilst plugged directly into the PC, try using different Ethernet ports on the Netgear too.

      If the cable doesn't work, then I would suggest that you try the PS3 in the same way. If this works, then the Ethernet card in the PC is at fault. If the PS3 plays up, then it is the 25m cable.

      If the 25m cable works perfectly well with the PC, then I would suggest that you try different ports on the Netgear router, but it sounds like it is failing. This being the case then you should consider an alternative solution.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      os40's Avatar
      os40 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Windsor Exchange
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Windsor
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect two routers together and extend my Sky router network?

      Connected the 25m cable both to my PC and PS3 from my Sky router. No drop outs. Heck, I have never had a dropout since building this PC over 2 years ago using my standard ethernet cables.

      Dropouts only occur when I use the Netgear as an intermediary irrespective of the cable I use.

      I will try obtaining another router and see if that makes any difference.

      By the way, how did you get such fast broadband speed!

      My internet used to be 8mbit. At once point it was 10mbit. Now it's stuck at 7.2mbit.
      Last edited by os40; 09-03-13 at 12:59 PM.

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: How to connect two routers together and extend my Sky router network?

      Sounds likely that an Ethernet port is failing on the router then.

      Depending on what you wanted to achieve, 5-Port 10/100mb Network Switches cost around 10. You could get an 8-Port Switch or one that can support up to 1Gbit.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      os40's Avatar
      os40 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Windsor Exchange
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Windsor
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect two routers together and extend my Sky router network?

      Got a new router. Actually purchased a Sky router from eBay. Hooked both of them up, and accessed the internet through the second router. Thankfully it works properly! No dropouts, and there is no loss in internet speed! So this confirms that my Netgear is broken.

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: How to connect two routers together and extend my Sky router network?

      Give Sky a call and let them know. I would suggest that you say that you borrowed the router and need to return it.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION