Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Moving house with Sky, will password change?

    This is a discussion on Moving house with Sky, will password change? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm currently using my own router rather than the one Sky supplied, I still have it somewhere however. They have ...

    1. #1
      Xirix's Avatar
      Xirix is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Moving house with Sky, will password change?

      I'm currently using my own router rather than the one Sky supplied, I still have it somewhere however. They have to cancel it and put in a re-order as part of the process of reinstating it because I'm moving home, they say all my details will be transferred over... but I thought I'd ask.

      Will the password for my internet stay the same, or will I have to set up Sky's router and extract the password again?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moving house with Sky, will password change?

      The password is unique to the router you received, not you, the line you are on or your address. You should just be able to plug it in and it will connect. The only provision is that the new line/exchange must be using PPPoA and not MER only. If it is the latter, you will not be able to connect unless you are using a specific Billion with the correct firmware.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Xirix's Avatar
      Xirix is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving house with Sky, will password change?

      Well Sky didn't send me a new router or anything, it's coming back on tomorrow and per their usual they want the router on the a week so they can guage speeds and such, so should it be safe to use my Belkin router I've been using with them for years?

      Obviously they don't seem to notice if you switch routers, but I'm paranoid that they might be able to during these tests?

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,903
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Moving house with Sky, will password change?

      The DLM software runs 24/7 in order to monitor the lines. It normally only changes the speeds in the early hours.

      If using your own router was an issue for the DLM software, it would have shown up some time back.

      As Tom mentioned, the only issue of any concern at present is whether or not your new line will support a PPPoA connection and not be locked to MER. Otherwise, all should be fine with regards to the router.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION