Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    new router, slower speeds, ring sky or will it fix itself ?

    This is a discussion on new router, slower speeds, ring sky or will it fix itself ? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Got a new router (Sagemcom) off sky this morning (last one broke) . My download speed is about a third ...

    1. #1
      bilko99's Avatar
      bilko99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: huyton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      new router, slower speeds, ring sky or will it fix itself ?

      Got a new router (Sagemcom) off sky this morning (last one broke) . My download speed is about a third of what it was (upload half of what it was ) and ive noticed the noise margin is a lot higher than the old router. Should i ring sky or will the speed adjust itself overtime?

      System Up Time: 5:14:33
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 237098 318692 0 140 536854104 5:13:33
      LAN Up 332938 250062 0 10041 1337 5:14:34
      WLAN Up 15241 5694 0 802 534 5:14:16
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4094 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34.5 dB 20.2 dB
      Noise Margin 17.8 dB 18.6 dB


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: new router, slower speeds, ring sky or will it fix itself ?

      It looks like DLM will run on your line. I would give it a few days to see if it starts, as it will do a better job than they can do manually. Keep your router plugged in and powered up and check in the morning if it has resynced in the early hours of the morning.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      bilko99 (27-02-13)

    5. #3
      bilko99's Avatar
      bilko99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: huyton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new router, slower speeds, ring sky or will it fix itself ?

      O.k thanks Isitme, i will see if it corrects itself, thanks again

    6. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: new router, slower speeds, ring sky or will it fix itself ?

      I wouldn't worry, this happens quite often when a line has had problems, it return to the start speed then goes up again. With the new DLM settings you may end up with a higher speed than you had before.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION