Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Can I get faster speeds?

    This is a discussion on Can I get faster speeds? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ROUTER STATISTICS System Up Time: 43:17:55 Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time WAN PPPoA 2184453 ...

    1. #1
      ConservativeUK's Avatar
      ConservativeUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01858
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can I get faster speeds?

      ROUTER STATISTICS

      System Up Time: 43:17:55
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2184453 4536787 0 542378492 2147483647 43:16:34
      LAN Up 1297712 1063526 0 1439478862 462306449 43:17:55
      WLAN Up 1465883 1096070 0 1920430541 116382027 43:17:36
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2848 kbps 710 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.5 dB 24.6 dB
      Noise Margin 21.9 dB 14.7 dB

      Do you think I can get faster? and are these good stats?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can I get faster speeds?

      Call Sky and ask them to manually configure your connection or run DLM training on it. The DLM training would be better as it can use a lower noise margin, giving you more speed. They should be able to give you 8-9Mb manually and maybe a bit more with DLM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      ConservativeUK's Avatar
      ConservativeUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01858
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I get faster speeds?

      Is my noise margin too high?

    5. #4
      offitmassive's Avatar
      offitmassive is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01432
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky World
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I get faster speeds?

      i think noise margin is set at around 6db in an ideal world....

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can I get faster speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by ConservativeUK View Post
      Is my noise margin too high?
      Yes it shows that your speed has been capped. The manual default is 7db but DLM can take this down to 3 db if the line is good enough.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION