Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 32

    Anyone use Astraweb news Hosting

    This is a discussion on Anyone use Astraweb news Hosting within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Just wondered if anybody uses Astraweb for news access. I've signed up with them and download speeds are terrible. ...

    1. #1
      deano_uk's Avatar
      deano_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wickersley
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Anyone use Astraweb news Hosting

      Hi,
      Just wondered if anybody uses Astraweb for news access. I've signed up with them and download speeds are terrible. Need to know if its them or SKy.

      I've tried all the suggested servers and ports and cant get a download to go above 40 KBPS.

      I'm on Sky connect and get about 3MB download speed from normal websites etc.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Which plan are you on at AstraWeb!

    4. #3
      deano_uk's Avatar
      deano_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wickersley
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      its the 90GB pay by downlaod plan

      Als worth mentioning im using Newsbin 5 as my client
      Last edited by deano_uk; 17-10-06 at 06:07 PM. Reason: more info

    5. #4
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Code:
      Plan	Price 	Downloads Included 	Rate Limit 	Connections
      Unlimited Plans
      Unlimited	$10/Month	Unlimited 	1 Mbit/s 	4
      Unlimited DSL	$15/Month	Unlimited 	Unlimited 	4
      Pay-by-Download Plans
       25 GB	$10 Once-Off	 25 Gigabytes 	Unlimited 	Unlimited
       65 90 GB	$25 Once-Off	 90 Gigabytes 	Unlimited 	Unlimited
      280 GB	$100 Once-Off	280 Gigabytes 	Unlimited 	Unlimited
      You should be getting a varying speed of unlimited really, So 40kbps is what your getting and really there is nothing promised! You get what you get - if it can get faster you can get faster!

      Also are you able to get faster speeds on other sites!

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      I use Astraweb pay by download.

      Each connection downloads at about 900kbps so with 12 simultaneous connections I can easily max out my connection at about 11Mb.

      Nothing wrong with Astraweb or Sky for me.

      I strongly recommend Grabit for a client.

    7. #6
      deano_uk's Avatar
      deano_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wickersley
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      i took unlimited to be the max my connection is able to do.

      i dont have another news server to try so cant really test another connection. I went for this service as i read on another post about a chap who was able to max out his connection with astraweb so i guess thats what set my expectation.

    8. #7
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Alot of people who I know who Use this AstraWeb seem pleased with it! It might be your computer config... also what speed do you download any file at ... try the one i posted in the SPEED TEST SECTION!

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      To max out a 3Mb connection you'll need to enable 4+ simultaneous connections on your client. Have you?

    10. #9
      deano_uk's Avatar
      deano_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wickersley
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      @Fibre
      Download of telewest test file stablised after a couple of mins at 289 KBps

      @Saturday
      I've added the 3 astraweb servers and given them all a max of 10 connections. I'll try grabbit and see if thats better than Newsbin.

      Thanks for the advice and help guys.

      Deano

    11. #10
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      The download of 289kbps is brilliant if your capped at 3mb!

      What are your line stats!

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION