Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 32

    Anyone use Astraweb news Hosting

    This is a discussion on Anyone use Astraweb news Hosting within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I get: Tracing route to europe.news.astraweb.com [193.202.122.105] over a maximum of 30 hops: 1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms ...

    1. #21
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      I get:

      Tracing route to europe.news.astraweb.com [193.202.122.105]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.1
      2 33 ms 32 ms 34 ms cr0.sdhywrd.uk.easynet.net [82.108.11.86]
      3 25 ms 27 ms 26 ms 82.111.104.177
      4 27 ms 26 ms 27 ms ge1-3-0-40.br0.enbsh.uk.easynet.net [194.242.128
      .129]
      5 26 ms 27 ms 27 ms ge0-0-0-0.br1.enbsh.uk.easynet.net [195.172.211.
      226]
      6 30 ms 29 ms 30 ms so1-0-1-0.br1.bllon.uk.easynet.net [217.204.79.1
      3]
      7 28 ms 30 ms 28 ms ge0-0-0-0.gr0.bllon.uk.easynet.net [207.162.204.
      1]
      8 30 ms 31 ms 30 ms ge0-1-0-0.gr0.thlon.uk.easynet.net [207.162.205.
      14]
      9 30 ms 30 ms 30 ms ge0-0-0-0.gr1.thlon.uk.easynet.net [207.162.198.
      13]
      10 29 ms 30 ms 31 ms ge0-2-0-0.gr0.tclon.uk.easynet.net [207.162.205.
      22]
      11 38 ms 37 ms 39 ms so0-2-0-0.gr0.tcams.nl.easynet.net [207.162.205.
      50]
      12 37 ms 37 ms 38 ms ge0-3-0-1.br1.tcams.nl.easynet.net [207.162.205.
      114]
      13 40 ms 38 ms 39 ms 213.201.252.204
      14 39 ms 38 ms 40 ms Te1-4.sara-r6-asd.com.sara.nl [195.69.144.252]
      15 38 ms 39 ms 37 ms stech-router.customer.com.sara.nl [85.90.65.10]

      16 39 ms 38 ms 41 ms unknown.ams.astraweb.com [193.202.122.105]

      Trace complete.



      Looks like something is blocking your access.

      Can you tracert say bbc.co.uk?

      Probably clutching at straws but in case you have a DNS problem, try tracert 193.202.122.105.

      You could also try using 193.202.122.105 as the server address in newsbin/grabit instead of europe.news.astraweb.com.

      (No sign of fibreoptic. Do you think his mum called him in for tea? )
      Last edited by Saturday; 17-10-06 at 08:37 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      deano_uk's Avatar
      deano_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wickersley
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No i cant traceroute to anything its wierd.
      Also just got a friend to try my account for me on his 10MB NTL connection. He was able to get 9MB speeds so I gues this rules out Astraweb.

      C:\Documents and Settings\Deano>tracert bbc.co.uk

      Tracing route to bbc.co.uk [212.58.228.155]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 * * * Request timed out.
      2 * * * Request timed out.
      3 * * * Request timed out.
      4 * * * Request timed out.
      5 * * * Request timed out.
      6 * * * Request timed out.
      7 * * * Request timed out.
      8 * * * Request timed out.
      9 * * * Request timed out.
      10 * * * Request timed out.
      11 * * * Request timed out.
      12 34 ms 34 ms 34 ms virtual0.mh.bbc.co.uk [212.58.228.155]

      Trace complete.

    4. #23
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      And using 193.202.122.105?

    5. #24
      deano_uk's Avatar
      deano_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wickersley
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      C:\Documents and Settings\Deano>tracert 193.202.122.105

      Tracing route to unknown.ams.astraweb.com [193.202.122.105]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 * * * Request timed out.
      2 * * * Request timed out.
      3 * * * Request timed out.
      4 * * * Request timed out.
      5 * * * Request timed out.
      6 * * * Request timed out.
      7 * * * Request timed out.
      8 * * * Request timed out.
      9 * * * Request timed out.
      10 * * * Request timed out.
      11 * * * Request timed out.
      12 * * * Request timed out.
      13 * * * Request timed out.
      14 * 41 ms * unknown.ams.astraweb.com [193.202.122.105]
      15 40 ms 40 ms 41 ms unknown.ams.astraweb.com [193.202.122.105]

      Trace complete.

    6. #25
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Well - tracerts timing out aren't uncommon but they're normally at the interface between the ISP and the "internet". Yours is timing out on the first hop which means you have a local (e.g. PC/router problem).

      Just to confirm, what does a tracert to the router (192.168.0.1) and to your PC (192.168.0.?) give you?

    7. #26
      deano_uk's Avatar
      deano_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wickersley
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      C:\Documents and Settings\Deano>tracert 192.168.0.1

      Tracing route to 192.168.0.1 over a maximum of 30 hops

      1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.0.1

      Trace complete.

    8. #27
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Well that's different. Your earlier tracerts to the bbc and astraweb both timed out on the first hop to your router. Tracerting just to your router responded as it should.

      OK here's a another clutch at a straw. On the off chance your router is upset with the exchange in some way, power off your router for a minute then repower up. This will make it renegotiate with the exchange (and maybe give you another WAN IP).

      Then try another tracert.

      Doubt this will help but it's worth a try

    9. #28
      deano_uk's Avatar
      deano_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wickersley
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      well tried again after a reboot and still no good, still slow news downloads and still cant tracert.

      Next move will be to restore my gost image to my laptop and see if a base build is any better.
      I could traceroute a couple of days ago but god know whats changed...

      Thanks for sticking with me on this.

      Deano

    10. #29
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Hmm.

      We know it's not Astraweb.
      We know it's not DNS.
      We know your PC can route to your router OK (fairly obvious if you could surf I guess).
      We know you can't tracert beyond your router.

      That's pointing more towards a problem at the Sky network/exchange level.

      If it's not too much of a chore then restoring your laptop can't hurt. But before you do that just a couple of questions:

      Do you have another laptop/PC you could try (that would eliminate/confirm the laptop at fault)?

      I've just noticed that Astraweb appears in the list of sites that some people have problems accessing (see sticky):

      Can you surf to Astraweb?

      Can you try a tracert to 3 or 4 other sites you know you can access e.g. skyuser.co.uk?

      There's a tiny chance you may have one of the affected IP ranges.

    11. #30
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      haha@Saturday no actually! I just went on MSN for a bit!

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION