Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Internet disconnecting when phone rings?

    This is a discussion on Internet disconnecting when phone rings? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi folks I was looking for some advice. At the weekend I moved my living room around, moving the tv ...

    1. #1
      craig_dufc's Avatar
      craig_dufc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01382
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Location
      Dundee
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Internet disconnecting when phone rings?

      Hi folks

      I was looking for some advice. At the weekend I moved my living room around, moving the tv and phone to the other side of the room. I unplugged the phone to do this so I could untangle the wires, but ever since it's been set up across the room the internet is disconnecting every time the phone rings or is hung up.
      I've not yet phoned sky as was wondering if there's anything I can do myself first of all?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Internet disconnecting when phone rings?

      First check that you have replaced the micro filters properly? If you have try changing them.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      craig_dufc's Avatar
      craig_dufc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01382
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Location
      Dundee
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet disconnecting when phone rings?

      I've only got one microfilter and it's connected correctly. Can i obtain new filters from Sky?

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Internet disconnecting when phone rings?

      How is everything connected? From the telephone socket, what plugs in first - a micro filter or sky tv splitter?

    6. #5
      craig_dufc's Avatar
      craig_dufc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01382
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Location
      Dundee
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet disconnecting when phone rings?

      The only thing I have plugged in to the telephone socket is the Micro Filter. Connected to that is the phone wire, and the wire for the router. I don't have a tv splitter. Like I say, everything is connected exactly as it was before, seems that juse because I removed it and put it back in has caused this issue.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Internet disconnecting when phone rings?

      Are you sure you do not have another filter lying around? Sky always supply two. Sky will usually send you one but it could take some time. It would be quicker if you can pick one up locally, Maplins for instance.

      If you have a friend who has one, see if you can borrow it, just to confirm that it is the filter which is faulty.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMDRO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101 + Huawei HG612
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,287
      Thanks
      347
      Thanked 154 Times in 148 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      I have read that, nowadays, ISP supplied micro-filters tend to be cheap quality and can go "dud" just like that, so probably worth buying (or scrounging) a - hopefully - better quality one from somewhere if you can!
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by Sky Broadband since 2007 ++

    9. #8
      craig_dufc's Avatar
      craig_dufc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01382
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Location
      Dundee
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet disconnecting when phone rings?

      Thanks for the replies - have found one stuffed away in the cardboard box my router came in, so will give that a try and fingers crossed it works!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION