Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Sagem 2504/Netgear DGN2000 issues I think?

    This is a discussion on Sagem 2504/Netgear DGN2000 issues I think? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi folks, I thought I would ask in here to see if anyone could offer me any help. First off ...

    1. #1
      jaseuk's Avatar
      jaseuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Location
      Yorkshire
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sagem 2504/Netgear DGN2000 issues I think?

      Hi folks,
      I thought I would ask in here to see if anyone could offer me any help.
      First off I have been using a Netgear DGN2000 router for a couple of years now with my Sky Broadband unlimited connection and had no problems. Recently though my router decided to reset itself for no reason back to default settings and I was getting very slow LAN speeds over my home network. I thought at this point the DGN2000 was on its way out so I decided to replace it with the original Sagem 2504 router I got from Sky. I have got it all up and running but it seems to take an age to navigate through the Sagem's interface. The firmware is currently on v2.8.
      Is this just an issue with the Sagem router and I have nothing to worry about or should I purchase a new Sky Hub (69). I noticed the Sky hub is not gigabit Ethernet and I had read a few posts on here about the Billion 7800n being a very good router albeit expensive.
      I have tested all my LAN cables in the house and they are fine.
      Any suggestions guys?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Sagem 2504/Netgear DGN2000 issues I think?

      I'm not sure what you think is slow or fats at the moment.

      Sure the Sagem 2504's GUI probably does seem slow when compared to the Netgear DGN2000.

      It is possible that the DGN2000 was failing. The model has a history of overheating and this mucks up various things. The one I currently have has a failed WiFi side. Previously I had one which failed on the LAN ports.

      Out of the routers you have listed, the Billion 7800n is the only one which supports 300mbps WiFi and 1Gbit LAN.

      The Sky Hub SR101 is a nice router, but if you are prepared to spend around 100 on your own router, then the Billion 7800n is a popular choice on this forum. It will connect whether your connection is on PPPoA or Sky's MER with the most recent firmware.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      jaseuk's Avatar
      jaseuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Location
      Yorkshire
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem 2504/Netgear DGN2000 issues I think?

      Thank you for the reply Scubbie.
      Is this MER thingy quite new then and how do you know if the router supports it?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sagem 2504/Netgear DGN2000 issues I think?

      Is this MER thingy quite new then and how do you know if the router supports it?
      MER is not new and has been used by Sky for some years now. It is used on all Sky Fibre connections. None of the Netgear routers support the way Sky implement MER. It is unlikely your line has changed to MER recently, many which were on that mode have reverted to PPPoA. You can check by looking at your stats, on the WAN line under Status. It will either be MER, PPPoA or both.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      jaseuk's Avatar
      jaseuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Location
      Yorkshire
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem 2504/Netgear DGN2000 issues I think?

      Yeah it looks like I am using PPPoA.
      Connection speed Down 16063kbps and Up 1117kbps.
      Line Attenuation Down 25.0db Up 12.9db
      Noise margin Down 5.6db Up 8.6db

      How do these figures look?

      I might go for the Billion 7800n as its got the Gigabit LAN.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sagem 2504/Netgear DGN2000 issues I think?

      These look OK. Does your Netgear sync lower than this or is it only the throughput which is low.

      In the meantime you might want to consider MRMT's custom firmware. - Custom Sky V2.8 Firmware for Sky V3 Sagem F@ST 2504 router

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      jaseuk's Avatar
      jaseuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Location
      Yorkshire
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem 2504/Netgear DGN2000 issues I think?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      These look OK. Does your Netgear sync lower than this or is it only the throughput which is low.[/url]
      Not sure what you mean there. When you say sync lower do you mean the Broadband speeds ie 16063kbps / 1117kbps?
      When you say throughput are you talking about my home network speeds on my LAN?

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sagem 2504/Netgear DGN2000 issues I think?

      The sync speed is the speed you see when you look at your stats. The throughput is the actual speed you get when downloading, eg, doing a speedtest.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION