Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 12 of 17 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast
    Results 111 to 120 of 170

    My Experience.

    This is a discussion on My Experience. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Well, as much as I'm on a different exchange, I think we all have similar delays in common! I had ...

    1. #111
      MattB's Avatar
      MattB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bexleyheath
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Well, as much as I'm on a different exchange, I think we all have similar delays in common!

      I had a long conversation with Tier 3 last night. They confirmed that the tie pair shift was completed correctly and I'm now on card 11, port 40 (I think that's what they said) and all should be well. It isn't - still no green light.

      After a chat, they are now suggesting it COULD be a dodgy router! After all this.... Anyway, they're sending me a new router (which, of course, won't arrive till after Xmas) and I can try that. The chap did say that he could see that the router was trying to sync but rather feebly. I even tried my old Alcatel ADSL modem and he said that was actually trying a bit harder than the router.

      I guess that does suggest a dodgy router but you really don't think of such things. That might not be the problem in my case but we agreed that it was worth ruling out before looking at other things.

      And so it continues...
      Last edited by MattB; 21-12-06 at 10:22 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #112
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      The RJ11 cable has been known to be faulty. Could you lay your hands on a replacement (does the one from your Alcatel modem detach)?
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    4. #113
      MattB's Avatar
      MattB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bexleyheath
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I assume you mean the cable from the microfilter to the router? I think my Alcatel lead does detach so I'll give that a go.

      Cheers for the suggestion. Worth a shot!

    5. #114
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Thats the very one I mean!
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    6. #115
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      And also, swap out the microfilters. If you have another router I guess you've got plenty of spare filters around.

    7. #116
      MattB's Avatar
      MattB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bexleyheath
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Unfortunately not - the Sky router is my first router. Was with Pipex before then, using the old Alcatel 'frog' ADSL modem. Still have a couple of old microfilters from that but already tried them.

      Ta.

    8. #117
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Did you try the other lead?
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    9. #118
      Psycho's Avatar
      Psycho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGDDLI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      222
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      The latest news hot off the press!!

      "Hi

      Customer Account Number:- 620*********

      I refer to our previous emails.

      I have spoken with our escalated technical team today with regard to the technical issue at your local exchange. They have confirmed that a joint meeting with BT and our engineers has taken place and it has been established that the fault is with BT's equipment. Unfortunately we do not have a timescale for resolution however they are aware of the problem.

      Please accept my apologies that my response could not be more favourable at this time.

      With kindest regards
      J**** M****
      Customer Relations"

      Whilst I am glad that potentially the problem is on BT's equipment because I think they will resolve their problems quicker than Sky what is really confusing me is the alleged DSLAM problem i.e. numerous ports on card 13 of the Sky DSALM up the swanny!! Were Sky lying to us all along?

      Lets just hope that we are now seeing the light at the end of the tunnel

      @Hoagie, it will be sods law that they cut you off just as they resolve the problem mate.

    10. #119
      MattB's Avatar
      MattB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bexleyheath
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by LNB View Post
      Did you try the other lead?
      At work at the mo so can't try till later. If it works, I guess I can update the thread at home! If not, will have to do it tomorrow!

    11. #120
      MattB's Avatar
      MattB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bexleyheath
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Morning.

      As you can probably guess, chaning the lead didn't make any difference in my case. Guess I'll have to wait for the second router to arrive before checking.

      What's the bet that the router goes missing in the post?!!

      Argh!

     

     
    Page 12 of 17 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION