Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Anyone know waht is the unbundling procedure?

    This is a discussion on Anyone know waht is the unbundling procedure? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Do Sky/easynet decide on a timetable and then approach BT to get the work done or do they just say ...

    1. #1
      Restorer's Avatar
      Restorer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      362
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Anyone know waht is the unbundling procedure?

      Do Sky/easynet decide on a timetable and then approach BT to get the work done or do they just say they want into all the exchanges and wait for BT to give them a timetable?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Once Sky have installed there equiptment in the BT Exchanges its all got to be done by BT, As sky are not allowed to touch BT's equiptment!

      This is a Physical Change which BT have to do themselves! Sky inform BT of your details and then BT give Sky a date back on what date an engineer in the Exchange is going to make the connection!

      Hope thats better!

    4. #3
      Restorer's Avatar
      Restorer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      362
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      Sky inform BT of your details and then BT give Sky a date back on what date an engineer in the Exchange is going to make the connection!

      Hope thats better!
      What have my details got to do with it? Surely they don't unbundle it line by line?!

    5. #4
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      The exchange is UNBUNDLED when Sky/Easynet decide to activate your area! But when you connect to Sky Broadband they activate your line onto their UNBUNDLED SERVICE! So in this case your details will be needed!

    6. #5
      Restorer's Avatar
      Restorer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      362
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      gotcha (i think)

    7. #6
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      I think restorer was asking about exchange unbundling for LLU in general rather than connecting a customers line to LLU.

      But I am sorry I do not know, how they decide, I would imagine demand plays a big part!

    8. #7
      fixer2035's Avatar
      fixer2035 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      As Hugsie suggested it will be unbundled on demand. LLU hardware is not cheap so it's no point putting in the equipment if only 2 users are interested in it! Sky/Easynet will view the interest in each exchange before putting the equipment in, this was a similar way that BT rolled out ADSL.

      Sky/Easynet are not allowed to touch the BT equipment and vice versa. The LLU equipment are put in a separate confined area of the exchange and have to have separate access and this also is added to the cost of putting the equipment in.
      I have sold my sold soul and joined SkyBroadband

    9. #8
      AbernusUK's Avatar
      AbernusUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gateshead
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Gateshead
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just a little point

      I may be totaly off here and please correct me if I am but this is what I was told years ago by BT.

      To unbundle an exchange it costs lots of they do go on demand and normally set a threshold value on the exchnge. Once they have x ammount of people wanting it they can then justify the change.

      I am waiting for my Gateshead exchange to be done, but this again will take time, we just have to wait. However the preasure has been put on BT to push the LLU process and speed it up.

    10. #9
      Christopher's Avatar
      Christopher is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sacriston
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Durham
      Posts
      78
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Someone told me ADSL2+ was already in gateshead, doesnt your exchange have to be LLU's before you can get ADSL2+>

    11. #10
      John_Sayers's Avatar
      John_Sayers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rottingdean A
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Saltdean
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi

      If you go to the easynet website they talk about demand ratios for exchange unbundling. If the exchange is remote, they set a threshold of 300 customers registering an intrest. If the adjacent exchange has been unbundled, this threshold drops to 150. You can check on their website what threshold your exchange is set to and you can also register your intrest.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION