Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    Blocking an IP range

    This is a discussion on Blocking an IP range within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; What about the custom firmware?...

    1. #11
      jaw2floor's Avatar
      jaw2floor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Blocking an IP range

      What about the custom firmware?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: Blocking an IP range

      Quote Originally Posted by jaw2floor View Post
      What about the custom firmware?
      I did think of that but I've not really played with it enough to know either way if it's possible or not.

      I flashed one of the earlier builds of it to my spare 2504n had a poke around the gui then put it back in the cupboard.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Blocking an IP range

      As Spotify uses random ports, there is one way you can do it and that is to block all outgoing ports. I don't know if it is possible to do this then open only the ports that you need. Maybe Dragon will comment, as I think he knows more about this than me.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: Blocking an IP range

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      As Spotify uses random ports, there is one way you can do it and that is to block all outgoing ports. I don't know if it is possible to do this then open only the ports that you need. Maybe Dragon will comment, as I think he knows more about this than me.
      Spotify used to be partly P2P not sure if it's

      Blocking the login servers might work, as well as the website (So you block the web version)..


      However I'm still not sure about the capabilities of the Sky router (Even with custom firmware) in this regard as it requires the ablity to do Firewalling on the outbound and to have rules for specific destinations.


      Spotify.com is 78.31.8.124 (Not sure if they use other IP's as well) I'd start by trying to block all traffic to that IP.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Blocking an IP range

      I tried that, it blocks the Spotify website but not the client. The only way I have found to block it is to block all outgoing ports, which is not much good if you want to use the internet.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION