Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 30 of 30

    Grrrr keeps disconnecting!!!!

    This is a discussion on Grrrr keeps disconnecting!!!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Well Sky tech don't seem to think that the webcam should be causing these intermittent dropped connections. They suggested using ...

    1. #21
      DanManchester's Avatar
      DanManchester is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blackfriars MRBLA
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Well Sky tech don't seem to think that the webcam should be causing these intermittent dropped connections.

      They suggested using a different microfilter - which I have now changed. Still have the problem.

      Then trying it without the Sky digibox cable connected at all - ie:no splitter - just microfilter to phone/router, which I have - still drops connection.

      And their final suggestion: take off the faceplate of the BT master socket and try plugging the microfilter directly into the test socket. Haven't tried that yet but will do later.

      Was told if all those suggestions fail then to call back and my problem will be escalated to "tier 3" whatever that means!

      Ho hum lol.......


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Are you using any special software with connecting the webcam though this shouldnt make any difference!

    4. #23
      DanManchester's Avatar
      DanManchester is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blackfriars MRBLA
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      Are you using any special software with connecting the webcam though this shouldnt make any difference!
      No, it's just the software that came with the Logitech webcam - worked fine before.

      Although I suppose it won't hurt to uninstall it and reinstall again and see if that fixes it.

      In fact I'm wondering whether uninstalling the Sky software completely and maybe using the Netgear drivers only from Netgear website might work?

    5. #24
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      You shouldn't need any drivers if your hooked up via Ethernet!

    6. #25
      DanManchester's Avatar
      DanManchester is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blackfriars MRBLA
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      aaaaaaaah! OK I'll uninstall the Sky stuff then and see what happens.

    7. #26
      boab2791's Avatar
      boab2791 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lennoxtown (WSLEX)
      Broadband ISP: Talk Talk
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Milton Of Campsie
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I wouldn't touch the CD with a barge poll but I would interested to know what it actually installs, does it install anything specific for the router or is it as I suspect a customised version of IE6. I know Mcafee is on there as well, already have a subscription for that at present.

    8. #27
      DanManchester's Avatar
      DanManchester is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blackfriars MRBLA
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Uninstalled the Sky software - which I think was just browser addons homepage etc.

      Now using my old BT microfilter instead of the ones Sky supplied and...touch wood...line hasn't dropped once today online 11 hours continuously....so hopefully it's settled down now.

      Read on another thread it can take 10 days "to train the line" ? Yet Sky only give 8 days to cancel..lol

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15323 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.0 db 14.9 db
      Noise Margin 7.8 db 11.0 db

    9. #28
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      There is no training period on the SkyMaxBB product.

    10. #29
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      The training period is for DSLmax aka Connect!

    11. #30
      DanManchester's Avatar
      DanManchester is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blackfriars MRBLA
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Seems I spoke too soon... connection still dropping - 3 times today so far.

      Spoke to Sky tech today explained I've tried all their suggestions including taking the faceplate off the BT master socket and plugging microfilter directly into the test socket - no improvement.

      So am waiting a callback now from Tier 3 which they said could take 48 hours!
      Which takes me past the 8 day time limit for cancelling...so unless I get the call sooner I'll be cancelling tomorrow.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION