Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 30

    Grrrr keeps disconnecting!!!!

    This is a discussion on Grrrr keeps disconnecting!!!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Your stats look ok, Your exchange seems fine! Results: Blackfriars Code: MRBLA County: Manchester - Greater Enabled: 11 Oct 1999 ...

    1. #11
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Your stats look ok, Your exchange seems fine!

      Results: Blackfriars Code: MRBLA

      County: Manchester - Greater

      Enabled: 11 Oct 1999
      VP capacity at this exchange is currently showing as Green.

      Virtual paths: Green

      There are currently no known capacity problems on your exchange. There may still be an exchange problem, however BT are not currently reporting that they are aware of it. Please contact Support if you are having speed problems, who can advise further.

      Record last updated: 09 Oct 06

      Historical information for this exchange:

      Status Date
      02 Oct 06
      25 Sep 06
      18 Sep 06
      11 Sep 06
      04 Sep 06



    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Dont know what else could be causing the problem, Just have to wait for Sky mate! iv done all the diagnostic checks i could! Sorry

    4. #13
      DanManchester's Avatar
      DanManchester is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blackfriars MRBLA
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      OK thanks FibreOptic much appreciated. I'll see what Sky tech say then - starting to think i may have a dodgy router!

    5. #14
      aksccltd2's Avatar
      aksccltd2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi Dan, where are your filters installed? As my line would stay up but IP tracffic would be borked Strange 1. Could'nt understand what could be causing the problem as i've had the same setup with a number of isp's with no problem. My master socket had a usb splitter fitted, with the signal filtered and going phone and sky and the other going to the router. I'd try my speedtouch which had worked at 3.5db with 'be' with no disconnects. With the speedtouch it would drop the line, baffled me 4 a bit. I tried something thatt should'nt have made a difference was to place a splitter on my phone line, this was already being splitt by my master socket and guess what it's stable now, got a lower SN margin but its been up 4 a day without disconnecting. May be worth a try.

      Fast path great 4 games
      My profile has been changed 4 gaming in mind
      on the speedtouch wireless is so much better

      Modemstate : up
      Operation Mode : G.992.1 Annex A
      Channel Mode : fast
      Number of resets : 1
      Vendor Local Remote
      Country : 0f ff
      Vendor : TMMB GSPN
      VendorSpecific : 0000 0008
      StandardRevisionNr : 00 01
      Downstream Upstream
      Margin [dB] : 9.5 15.0
      Attenuation [dB] : 44.5 26.0
      OutputPower [dBm] : 19.5 12.5
      Intrinsic/Actual Bandwidth %
      Upstream : 73
      Downstream : 94
      Available Bandwidth Cells/s Kbit/s
      Downstream : 16528 7008
      Upstream : 1886

    6. #15
      aksccltd2's Avatar
      aksccltd2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile

      It's been up for 2 days now with no disconnects

    7. #16
      silvermoon's Avatar
      silvermoon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Do you turn your router off every night ?

      I was having same issues random disconnects,after leaving it turned on for 11 days now i havent had 1 single line drop

      It may be a long shot but worth a try good luck.

    8. #17
      Jmgills's Avatar
      Jmgills is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Dns & Connection To Server Issues

      Hi

      New user here, i've had so much dramas with this Sky Broadband its unreal. Although I was with AOL before which was poor in itself I never had any problems like the ones im having at them minute.

      My situation is pretty much similar to DanManchesters one. Got connected finally after the usual your line isn't activated rubbish like alot of people have been having, but then the router kept disconnecting from my wireless. I had full signal capability but I keep getting a DNS server problem arrising. I came on here after being pointed towrds the site; read a few threads and tried the reboot through the 192.168.0.1 page and it seemed to work for about an hour then would slow and do it again so another reboot.

      It really is so annoying that this is happening, unfortunatley as you will probably ask for I dont have the stats like the other guys. But seriously does anyone know how to sort out the DNS server issue through the router. I also keep getting the error code 300 when I run sky test.

      Any help would be awesome.

      Ps. I turned of the PnP box and the respond to internet ping tick box after reading an earlier thred

      Cheers

      James

    9. #18
      DanManchester's Avatar
      DanManchester is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blackfriars MRBLA
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by aksccltd2 View Post
      Hi Dan, where are your filters installed? As my line would stay up but IP tracffic would be borked Strange 1. Could'nt understand what could be causing the problem as i've had the same setup with a number of isp's with no problem. My master socket had a usb splitter fitted, with the signal filtered and going phone and sky and the other going to the router. I'd try my speedtouch which had worked at 3.5db with 'be' with no disconnects. With the speedtouch it would drop the line, baffled me 4 a bit. I tried something thatt should'nt have made a difference was to place a splitter on my phone line, this was already being splitt by my master socket and guess what it's stable now, got a lower SN margin but its been up 4 a day without disconnecting. May be worth a try.

      Fast path great 4 games
      My profile has been changed 4 gaming in mind
      on the speedtouch wireless is so much better

      Modemstate : up
      Operation Mode : G.992.1 Annex A
      Channel Mode : fast
      Number of resets : 1
      Vendor Local Remote
      Country : 0f ff
      Vendor : TMMB GSPN
      VendorSpecific : 0000 0008
      StandardRevisionNr : 00 01
      Downstream Upstream
      Margin [dB] : 9.5 15.0
      Attenuation [dB] : 44.5 26.0
      OutputPower [dBm] : 19.5 12.5
      Intrinsic/Actual Bandwidth %
      Upstream : 73
      Downstream : 94
      Available Bandwidth Cells/s Kbit/s
      Downstream : 16528 7008
      Upstream : 1886

      Hmmmmm..you know I may have messed up the way I plugged in my microfilters - oops!

      This is how my set up was before Sky BB - main BT phone socket into which I plugged in 1 microfilter/dsl cable to router/and a splitter into the phone connnector to telephone/Sky digibox. That worked fine never a problem.

      Now - Sky/Netgear set up:the Sky tech told me I needed to put a 2nd microfilter into the splitter and then plug my Sky digibox cable into that - as apparently anything using a telephone cable needed to have its own microfilter (and it's with this set up I've had all my disconnection problems!)

      After reading your post aksccltd (thanks btw) I've reverted back to just one microfilter using the splitter to phone/sky digibox - if that solves it then I was given dodgy advice grrrrrrr.

      I'm going to fire up my webcam now (that seemed to be causing disconnection before) and see how long it lasts!

      Will post back if it's made any difference, cheers!

    10. #19
      DanManchester's Avatar
      DanManchester is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blackfriars MRBLA
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Well...was online for about 15 minutes then switched on the webcam and the connection dropped! So it's definitely some kind of conflict with broadcasting webcam and the Sky router it would appear.

      Phoning Sky tech now to see what they say...

    11. #20
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Quote Originally Posted by DanManchester View Post
      Well...was online for about 15 minutes then switched on the webcam and the connection dropped! So it's definitely some kind of conflict with broadcasting webcam and the Sky router it would appear.

      Phoning Sky tech now to see what they say...
      keep us posted m8..!

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION