Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 26 of 26

    No Internet Light

    This is a discussion on No Internet Light within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Are you sure there is nobody local that you know with Sky broadband where you could test your router? Buying ...

    1. #21
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,190
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 336 Times in 327 Posts

      Re: No Internet Light

      Are you sure there is nobody local that you know with Sky broadband where you could test your router? Buying a new router would be a waste of money if yours is still serviceable.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: No Internet Light

      Used to be the process that if a replacement router is sent to fix a technical issue and it turns out the router isn't at fault, then they'll credit the money back. Whether that's still the case, who knows.

    4. #23
      kan.grewal's Avatar
      kan.grewal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dudley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Internet Light

      Another thing - sorry to bore everyone with this! My connection type says PPPoA/MER - I'm sure it used to just say MER on it's own..... Does that mean anything?
      No Internet Light-photo.jpg

    5. #24
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,894
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: No Internet Light

      That is fine as it isn't connected.

      When the router is connected to the ADSL line, it would specifically say one or the other. When it hasn't got a connection, it will say both.

      Sky supports both MER and PPPoA on different connections at the moment. So all their routers need to be able to support both. The router will work out which is possible when it connects to the Internet.

      Obviously at the present time your router is unable to connect to the Internet though.

      Out of interest, I wonder if it is worth you trying to install an old firmware on the router? The router will try to update to the latest version once it has connected again, but it might be interesting to see it an old version works or not. There are risks involved. Apart from the potential of 'bricking' the router, there is also the possibility that any custom settings will be lost and also the firmware installed might not support MER which could be the only option on your line.

      Sky router recovery tool | Sky Help

      The router may try to update automatically immediately when it reconnects or at any time over the following 24 hours. However if you did this, it could prove/disprove the firmware.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #25
      kan.grewal's Avatar
      kan.grewal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dudley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Internet Light

      Guess what! Borrowed a router from work, got my username and password from my old router...applied to one from work and hey presto it works!

      I knew the router was boned!

    7. #26
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,894
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: No Internet Light

      Great result.

      A friendly call to Sky should now be in order. Explain what you have done and that you must return the router to your friend.

      Hopefully someone will see sense and send out a replacement ASAP.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION