Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By Scubbie

    Noise margin.

    This is a discussion on Noise margin. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello all, For the past couple of days my Sagem router has been syncing with the server unusually high. I ...

    1. #1
      sasv's Avatar
      sasv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Noise margin.

      Hello all,

      For the past couple of days my Sagem router has been syncing with the server unusually high. I get Down-speeds between 7.5 and 8.0 but now I'm getting 9.2 which has effected the noise margin drastically and it has fallen to 3db.
      Rebooting the router has now effect and it will still sync the same speed.

      Would anyone be kind enough to tell me how I can rectify this?

      Thank you.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,190
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 336 Times in 327 Posts

      Re: Noise margin.

      Sorry if I am being thick but are you complaining that your download speed is too high?

    4. #3
      sasv's Avatar
      sasv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin.

      Hello,

      No, I'm concerned with the low Noise margin since my down speed increased. Unless I'm being incredibly thick and shouldn't be concerned?

    5. #4
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,190
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 336 Times in 327 Posts

      Re: Noise margin.

      Unless the low SNRM is causing other problems I wouldn't be concerned.

    6. #5
      sasv's Avatar
      sasv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin.

      Web page/video loading seems to stall and I've experienced this before with low noise ratio when my router used to sync at a higher speed than normal in the morning, then during the evenings Db would drop as net traffic increased. Reebooting the router would usually rectify this by giving me lower speeds but higher Db figure.

      I just find it strange that my router db ratio has gone from 7.0db to 2.8/3.0db and rebooting gives the same figures.

    7. #6
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,190
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 336 Times in 327 Posts

      Re: Noise margin.

      Something may have happened on the line to cause Sky's Dynamic Line Management to restart. I would monitor it over the next few days to see if there are any changes. If not contact Sky BB technical support, explain the situation and ask if they can set the SNRM manually.

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Noise margin.

      The DLM software was updated last April. Since then Sky has had it going around re-profiling everyone's ADSL line on their LLU kit and in many cases the speed improvements have been excellent.

      Previously DLM would use a default Noise Margin of 7dB. Now it will go as low as 3dB provided the line can maintain a good connection (without large numbers of errors) with that setting. If there is a small issue, it will increase the Noise Margin a little, but often still below 7dB.
      seawright likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #8
      sasv's Avatar
      sasv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin.

      That's very interesting about the update to the DLM software and could be attributed to my recent issues.

      Thanks very much both of you for the help.

    10. #9
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: Noise margin.

      Does the Sky modem provide any error stats

      Specifically CRC error counters.

      Can't remember and since I'm on FTTC I won't get any useful DSL stats from mine (If it was even turned on!)

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Noise margin.

      Quote Originally Posted by dragon2611 View Post
      Does the Sky modem provide any error stats

      Specifically CRC error counters.
      Sadly (and annoyingly) not for the standard firmware.

      Only the Netgear DG834GT provides this information. All the other models do not. The hacked firmware which mrmt32 composed recently can also gain access to this information too.

      However the staff in the Sky call centres can see this information.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION