Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18
    Like Tree1Likes

    Sky not giving out a Migration Access Code

    This is a discussion on Sky not giving out a Migration Access Code within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; After some technical problems with Sky (which they refuse to help with) - we're moving off Sky broadband and need ...

    1. #1
      mwsh's Avatar
      mwsh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky not giving out a Migration Access Code

      After some technical problems with Sky (which they refuse to help with) - we're moving off Sky broadband and need to get a Migration Access Code - but after 3 days and 3 calls we still don't have one.

      How do you get past the people on level 1 support so you can get a code ?
      My mother is really losing her mind dealing with SKY. Is this an Ofcom complaint.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky not giving out a Migration Access Code

      If you are on Sky LLU, you will not get a MAC. These only work on BT compatible lines, Sky's LLU is not BT compatible. Just go ahead with the transfer and tell your new ISP you are coming off a non BT line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      mwsh's Avatar
      mwsh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky not giving out a Migration Access Code

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If you are on Sky LLU, you will not get a MAC. These only work on BT compatible lines, Sky's LLU is not BT compatible. Just go ahead with the transfer and tell your new ISP you are coming off a non BT line.
      We're not on Sky LLU - I believe we're on BT compatable lines as we started on Sky.
      I told the only way to get them to give the MAC is to threaten to get rid of Sky TV as well.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky not giving out a Migration Access Code

      Unless you are on Sky Connect, you will be on Sky LLU. Put your number into the box and click Submit. This will show whether your line is BT compatible or not. You will probably get a reply something like 'There is no data available for this number.......' If your line is compatible you will receive an estimate of what speed you can expect and the services available.

      http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/AD...neNumberOutput

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      mwsh's Avatar
      mwsh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky not giving out a Migration Access Code

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Unless you are on Sky Connect, you will be on Sky LLU. Put your number into the box and click Submit. This will show whether your line is BT compatible or not. You will probably get a reply something like 'There is no data available for this number.......' If your line is compatible you will receive an estimate of what speed you can expect and the services available.

      BT Broadband
      Thanks - I've confirmed that the line is BT compatable.
      So there's no reason for them to withhold the MAC.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky not giving out a Migration Access Code

      Thanks - I've confirmed that the line is BT compatable.
      If you received an estimate you are BT compatible, so as you say there is no reason why you should not get a MAC. Try calling this number 08442 411 653 There is no need to give up Sky TV to get a MAC.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      B J's Avatar
      B J
      B J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      287
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky not giving out a Migration Access Code

      We are on sky LLU but still pay bt line rental, and do recive a estimate speed if puting in the phone number on the bt link page you gave.
      His name was nut, Mr P Nut.

    9. #8
      mwsh's Avatar
      mwsh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky not giving out a Migration Access Code

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If you received an estimate you are BT compatible, so as you say there is no reason why you should not get a MAC. Try calling this number 08442 411 653 There is no need to give up Sky TV to get a MAC.
      Thanks - so far its been 3 days of calls to Sky to get a MAC - hopefully they'll do it tomorrow.

      We're only moving from Sky because they won't assist with a technical problem which we believe is due to their router.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky not giving out a Migration Access Code

      By Ofcom regulations ISPs are oblged to supply a MAC within 5 days of it being requested. You would have been better doing it by email, then there is a written record of the request, should there be problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      timc's Avatar
      timc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh, Essex
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Hadleigh,Essex
      Posts
      299
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Sky not giving out a Migration Access Code

      I requested my MAC code the other day & got it whilst on the phone to them. The woman I spoke to said sometimes it (the system) will give it out immediately - if you're lucky.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION