Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Advice on poor connection

    This is a discussion on Advice on poor connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have had sky broadband for a a matter of weeks now. The service was brilliant when i was activated ...

    1. #1
      memphis's Avatar
      memphis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: blackburn LCBLK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      blackburn
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Advice on poor connection

      I have had sky broadband for a a matter of weeks now. The service was brilliant when i was activated reaching speeds of 16meg because i am only a 440 metres from the exchange. Here are the stats as follows:-

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15323 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.5 db 14.8 db
      Noise Margin 11.4 db 10.4 db

      All of a sudden the other day I got disconnected and when it came back up I got speeds of 512k, So I rebooted the router and got this:-

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2272 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23.0 db 12.0 db
      Noise Margin 32.9 db 13.0 db

      I have rang Sky Tech Support and they said it must be a problem with my line and they would pass it on to BT. I also reported a fault. I have checked all the wiring in the house and changed my microfilters but still get the 2mb download limit. BT have now come back this morning and said there is not a fault on the line or at the exchange. Any advice from you guys and gals would be much appreciated.
      Last edited by memphis; 16-10-06 at 09:45 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      It looks as though somebody has capped the sync rate to me.

      Which package are you on?

    4. #3
      memphis's Avatar
      memphis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: blackburn LCBLK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      blackburn
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      On the max package. Surely they cant cap it without telling you?

    5. #4
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      The only reason(s) they may have capped it is:

      (1) if the error rate was too high on the higer sync rate. But if they have done that then they have been very heavy handed. Also, from your stats i see no reason why this should be the case anyway.

      (2) if you have been downloading massive amounts of data, GBs daily and have broken their fair use policy.

      I would contact sky again try to speak to tier3 and quote your stats at them

    6. #5
      memphis's Avatar
      memphis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: blackburn LCBLK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      blackburn
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can you contact tier 3 direct? Tech support is taking the mick stating thats its bt's fault all the time and going through there troubleshooting guide. Just want to talk to someone who has a clue what they talking about

    7. #6
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      No you will have to go through the "dummy" process first, but try and convince them that your router should be syncing much higher and that it did when you first had it but now it looks as though it has been capped.

      BT is very unlikely to be involved.

      Before you call, Switch your router off and leave it about 30 mins before turning it on again. And see if it will reconnect at the higher speed.
      Last edited by dingdong; 16-10-06 at 10:35 AM.

    8. #7
      memphis's Avatar
      memphis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: blackburn LCBLK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      blackburn
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Still same connection speed. Thanks for the advice.

    9. #8
      memphis's Avatar
      memphis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: blackburn LCBLK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      blackburn
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      What is line attenuation? This seems to be a lot higher than it used to?

    10. #9
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    11. #10
      memphis's Avatar
      memphis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: blackburn LCBLK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      blackburn
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks. It dose look line a noise on line problem. Bt have contacted me again and stated that there is not a problem with the line. Who do I blame for this, Sky or BT? How come the noise margin is only affecting my download speed and not the upload? Gotta be a Sky issue.
      Last edited by memphis; 16-10-06 at 12:18 PM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION