Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Advice on poor connection

    This is a discussion on Advice on poor connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Seems fine again now. BT replaced fuses at excange and syncing at nearly 16mb. Only problem now is that if ...

    1. #11
      memphis's Avatar
      memphis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: blackburn LCBLK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      blackburn
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Seems fine again now. BT replaced fuses at excange and syncing at nearly 16mb. Only problem now is that if I plug a splitter into main bt box so i connect sky+ etc my connection speed goes down to 3meg. Guess they Sky will just have to live with that.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      BSKYB's Avatar
      BSKYB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by dingdong View Post
      The only reason(s) they may have capped it is:

      (1) if the error rate was too high on the higer sync rate. But if they have done that then they have been very heavy handed. Also, from your stats i see no reason why this should be the case anyway.

      (2) if you have been downloading massive amounts of data, GBs daily and have broken their fair use policy.

      I would contact sky again try to speak to tier3 and quote your stats at them
      Dingdong, I had same issue with my connection (slow down after 7 pm and snr dropping to 6<). I had Sky to look inti this and T3 call and they looked at my exchange and to me that error rate was too high when sync at 8128 so would I be ok at being capped at 6728? I agreed and have experince a more stable download speeds (5.5 Meg). Did I under sell myself? I am on the mid package and can only get up to 8 meg.

    4. #13
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      BT - There is not alot Sky can do if there is noise on your line!

    5. #14
      N8lad's Avatar
      N8lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow connect speed 2Mbit not 16Mbit

      Ordered SKY MAX about a month ago.. Paperwork arrived pretty quick, giving a commence date which was accurate. I suffered the same problem as a few on here in that my SKY Netgear modem never arrived.. After a few days I rang up and had to get another one ordered which to Sky's credit did arrive within 3-4 days.
      I have connected it all up tonight and imagine my horror to find it is setup as a 2Mbit circuit. I've tried connecting to the main test socket, called Tech Support on the freephone number and after 22 minutes (thank God it was Freephone) I have logged a call. I know they have to ask a set of questions, but deleting cookies is just insulting my intelligence.
      I live 440m from the exchange (as the crow flies) so less than 1km. This particular line is capable of supporting 17Mbit according to SKY's preliminary tests.. It should be it used to give a rock solid 8Mbit from BULLDOG.
      So a call is opened..
      My stats are
      Conn Speed DOWNSTREAM 2048
      Conn Speed UPSTREAM 256
      Line Attenuation DOWNSTREAM 16.0
      Line Attentuation UPSTREAM 8.0
      Noise Margin DOWNSTREAM 30.2
      Noise Margin UPSTREAM 31.0

      I think BT have set this to a 2Mbit circuit. Needless to say I've escallated this to Tier3 support at SKY.

      From the above stats can anyone work out / predict what I should be getting ?

      N8lad

    6. #15
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      You should be getting 13-16mb MAX! But your router is locked at 2Mb!??

      try powercycling and see if its syncs at a better rate!

    7. #16
      Bluejak's Avatar
      Bluejak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Lots of great info here. My knowledge of telecommunications is 100 times better than before I entered the disappointing world of Sky Broadband.

      Tier 3 have capped my line to 128kbps (upload), they up'ed it to the mid package and I lost connection for a day until the router decided it would co-operate.

      So any advice on my stats:

      Connection speed: 64 kbps (download) 128 kbps (upload)
      Line attenuation 63.5 db (download) 31.5 db (upload)
      Noise margin 18.2 db (download) 13 db (upload)
      Exchange 1.5 miles (as the crow flies)
      Filter plugged into master socket with no other phone lines connected.

      Sky confirmed that my line test was clear and I should be able to take 5.35mb so what's the issue? The line attenuation is a little high for 1.5 miles isn't it? I looked at the exchange stats via the usertools link (great site) and they have a listed problems with the "virtual paths" in some lines to be fixed 24.10, could this be my problem or is it the kids at the end of the road peeing about with the green box?

      Any clues?

    8. #17
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      For 1.5Miles you should get a good 16Mb??? I am having some Virtual Path Problems on my Exchange yet i get solid 10-12mb speeds!
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 16-10-06 at 11:44 PM. Reason: removed quoted preceeding post ;-)

    9. #18
      Bluejak's Avatar
      Bluejak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yeah thanks that makes me feel much better! I swear my connection is slower than the dial-up I had. Still I'm grateful for the small miracle of the little green internet light that took so many hours listening to Sky's hold music.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION