Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 52

    Moving to Sky from O2

    This is a discussion on Moving to Sky from O2 within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, new to the forum but have been reading for a day or two. Have recently placed my order ...

    1. #1
      daddyp81's Avatar
      daddyp81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Moving to Sky from O2

      Moving to Sky from O2-router-stats.jpg

      Hi all, new to the forum but have been reading for a day or two. Have recently placed my order for Sky Unlimited BB, they have suggested speeds between 4.0 and 9.2Mbps. My current provider has only ever been able to get me upto about 2.5Mbps (im on O2LLU). Historically ive been with them for about the last 3 years and went through their 2nd line technical service on many occasions, largely because of dropped connections and poor speed. They eventually suggested that my line from exchange had a 'loop' somewhere in it that is causing my probs but could offer no further assistance and left me syncing at about 2,900kbps. I couldnt be bothered to push them any further and ploughed on with what they gave me.

      I have recently removed the bell wire (even though the master socket is a new BT openreach jobbie) which has given the current sync speed of 3,808kbps as you can see, in the test socket i get upto about 3,900 kbps so have ordered an I plate which should come soon and before my Sky BB goes live on 14/1/13, i know its not much but hey...

      I dont really think that O2 could be bothered to sort me out properly and they just messed about with my SNR to address the dropped connection. My question is this, am i likely to see any improvements in speed moving to Sky, what with the DLM process? and their own equipment in my exchange?

      When i rang to cancel my O2 subscription and request MAC code, the retentions specialist suggested that i was 'stupid to think that i could get any better elsewhere'.


      Cheers

      Andy


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      823
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Moving to Sky from O2

      It's highly unlikely that Sky's LLU will give you a better download rate at the test socket than O2's LLU, since your line to the exchange will be unaltered.

      Still, all the best with the change.

    4. #3
      daddyp81's Avatar
      daddyp81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Moving to Sky from O2

      hi Felix, thanks for your response. I guess my question has been misinterpreted - apologies. What i want to know is are those stats acceptable for my line attenuation? I have seen line attenuations of 49.5 achieve sync speeds of around 6800kbps with a lower snr. I was wondering if with the SKY DLM process and new router, i would possibley see and increase in speed. It seems from my research that SKY seem to do a better job at getting the best sync speeds for the customer than O2 ever attempted for me.

      Cheers

      Andy

    5. #4
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,190
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 336 Times in 327 Posts

      Re: Moving to Sky from O2

      Our Potential ADSL2 Line Speed Checker & Calculator suggests that your line is capable of a download speed between 6Mb/s and 7Mb/s.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moving to Sky from O2

      O2 use a default margin of 6 db, as yours is 9db that suggests there may be a problem with your line or O2's exchange equipment. You will not know for sure until your line is transferred to Sky and profiled. On the face of it a sync speed of 6-7Mb looks likely, you will certainly not get less than you do with O2..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      mwsh's Avatar
      mwsh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving to Sky from O2

      Just to say that in limited experience Sky technical help has been really poor and I have to pay for the privilege of spending a lot of time talking to people who don't understand what they're talking about - mind you they are polite.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moving to Sky from O2

      Quote Originally Posted by mwsh View Post
      Just to say that in limited experience Sky technical help has been really poor and I have to pay for the privilege of spending a lot of time talking to people who don't understand what they're talking about - mind you they are polite.
      Maybe if you had come here with your problem, we could have helped to solve it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      mwsh's Avatar
      mwsh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving to Sky from O2

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Maybe if you had come here with your problem, we could have helped to solve it.
      Sky say we've gone over out broadband limits. We've turned everything off but still the usage goes up. Sky refuse to believe us.

      I've worked in networking so I've asked them to monitor the network packets but they refuse.
      Don't have much choice but to leave. We still have the TV but we're looking to get rid of that now.

    10. #9
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,190
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 336 Times in 327 Posts

      Re: Moving to Sky from O2

      Quote Originally Posted by mwsh View Post
      Sky say we've gone over out broadband limits. We've turned everything off but still the usage goes up. Sky refuse to believe us.
      A common problem is having automatic updates enabled. It is good for security but can play havoc if your usage is limited.

    11. #10
      mwsh's Avatar
      mwsh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving to Sky from O2

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      A common problem is having automatic updates enabled. It is good for security but can play havoc if your usage is limited.
      We turned everything off and even left the building for 6 days for Christmas. Sky says the usage still went up.

     

     
    Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION